Sport Hurling

Saturday 20 January 2018

Boyle fires Ballyduff to glory

Ballyduff 2-18
Lixnaw 2-9
Kerry shc final

Murt Murphy

Ballyduff saw off Lixnaw yesterday to join Kilmoyley on the top of the county roll of honour with 22 titles.

With just five minutes left, Ballyduff held a 1-13 to 2-9 lead and Lixnaw were threatening to spoil the party, but a vital Aidan Boyle goal proved to be the match winner.

Boyle caught every ball delivered by brothers Padraig (only 16), Mikey and Liam and suddenly the scores began to rain down on Lixnaw.

Lixnaw led 1-8 to 0-10 at the interval with Mike Conway getting the goal, while Ballyduff had a penalty saved.

Early in the second half, Aidan Boyle shot to the net to give Ballyduff the lead, but Conway was back again with a 46th minute goal before James Flaherty tied the game a minute later.

However, Ballyduff finished the stronger and they went on to reclaim the Neilus Flynn Cup for the first time since 2006.

Scorers -- Ballyduff: B O'Sullivan 0-12 ( 0-9 frees, 0-1 '65), A Boyle 2-1, M Boyle and P Boyle 0-2 each, T O'Rourke 0-1. Lixnaw: M Conway 2-1, J Flaherty 0-4 ( 0-1 free), E Galvin 0-2, F Fitzmaurice (0-1 free) and S Power 0-1 each

Ballyduff -- J Murphy, J Bowler, C Boyle, D O'Grady, P Costello, L Boyle, P O'Grady, J Bunyan, A Boyle, A O'Connor, M Boyle, B O'Grady, G O'Brien, P Boyle, B O'Sullivan. Subs: D Bowler for J Bunyan, E Joy for B O'Grady, T O'Rourke for G O'Brien

Lixnaw -- M Stackpoole, R Galvin, T Brosnan, M Corridan, C Fitzmaurice, T McKenna, P Lyons, F Fitzmaurice, J Griffin, S Power, E Galvin, R Thornton, C Fitzmaurice, M Conway, J Flaherty. Subs: P Galvin for T Brosnan, B Brosnan for E Galvin, E Galvin for C Fitzmaurice

Ref -- Shane Hourigan ( Limerick)

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport