Friday 19 January 2018

Boland boost for Dubs as Daly throws down gauntlet to Kilkenny

Cliona Foley

Cliona Foley

DUBLIN hurling boss Anthony Daly says they won't be using any excuses if they fail to topple Kilkenny and win their first Leinster title in 50 years tomorrow.

The Dubs welcome back centre-back Joey Boland for the showdown. Boland has recovered from a shoulder injury to make his first appearance since the league final, thus allowing Peter Kelly to switch to full-back to replace Brady and Simon Lambert comes in for the suspended O'Dwyer at left half-forward.

The Dubs will be without Tomas Brady (cruciate injury) and Ryan O'Dwyer (suspended), but Daly said: "We won't be making excuses, we believe in our squad."

As expected, Kilkenny, chasing a phenomenal 12th Leinster title in 13 seasons, have made just one change of personnel to the team that beat Wexford.

Tommy Walsh returns from a series of shoulder injuries to take up his vital role at wing-back in place of Paddy Hogan.

Walsh missed both of Kilkenny's two league meetings with Dublin this year so his return is a massive fillip.

Michael Fennelly is starting at midfield despite reports that he still has a hand injury that has curtailed his training in the past week.


He is partnered by Michael Rice, with TJ Reid named at wing-forward and Henry Shefflin selected at full-forward.

Clare hurlers will be without towering forward Darach Honan for their difficult All-Ireland qualifier clash with Galway in Salthill tonight.

The Clonlara star has gone off their panel temporarily to try to cure an ongoing groin problem, and he is replaced at full-forward tonight by his former All-Ireland U-21 winning team-mate Caimin Morey.

The Banner's only other changes are positional and in defence.

Cian Dillon moves to full-back and Conor Cooney goes to left corner while Pat Donnellan goes to centre-back in a similar switch with James McInerney on the half-back line.

The draw for round three of the hurling qualifiers (on July 9) will be made after tomorrow's Leinster final. But if Wexford beat Limerick tonight clash, no draw will be needed. That's because teams who have met each other already within their own provinces cannot meet again.

KILKENNY (SH v Dublin) -- D Herity; N Hickey, JJ Delaney, J Tyrrell; T Walsh, B Hogan, P Murphy; M Fennelly, M Rice; TJ Reid, R Power, E Larkin; C Fennelly, H Shefflin, R Hogan.

DUBLIN (SH) --G Maguire; N Corcoran, P Kelly, O Gough; J McCaffrey, J Boland, S Durkin; L Rushe, C Keaney; C McCormack, A McCrabbe, S Lambert; D O'Callaghan, P Carton, P Ryan.

Clare (SH v Galway) -- P Brennan; P Vaughan, C Dillon, C Cooney; P O'Connor, P Donnellan, J McInerney; J Clancy, N O'Connell; J Conlon, F Lynch, D McMahon; C McInerney, C Morey, C McGrath.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport