Sport Hurling

Sunday 19 November 2017

'Big three' miles ahead of the rest

Two days before what promises to be a fascinating All-Ireland final might seem an inappropriate time to raise the issue of hurling domination, but it just won't go away.

Irrespective of Sunday's result, Kilkenny, Tipperary and Cork will have won every All-Ireland title since 1999, a 'big three' domination never previously seen in the championship.

Cork may be off sprint pace at present but they do have a history of regrouping quite quickly, so will the overall pattern change over the next five years? Frankly, it's unlikely.

Under Anthony Daly Dublin are progressing but, other than that, where are alternatives to come from?

The big three domination is in marked contrast to the 1980-97 period when Galway, Offaly, Clare and Wexford also got in on the All-Ireland act. Now, Galway are the flattering deceivers while the other trio are way off the pace.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport