Wednesday 21 February 2018

Beggan strike seals Erne success

Fermanagh 2-12 Tyrone 1-11

FERMANAGH exacted revenge for last year's Lory Meagher Cup final defeat with victory at Brewster Park, where an injury-time goal from substitute Martin Beggan sealed the win.

The teams traded scores in the first half. Damien Casey was to the fore for Tyrone, hitting three points. Sean Corrigan landed three of Fermanagh's opening five points as Tyrone went in at half-time leading 0-6 to 0-5.

Fermanagh took the lead in the second half with points from Andrew Breslin, Ryan Bogue and John Duffy, but their lead was short-lived. Kiefar Morgan blasted to the back of the net to give Tyrone a one-point advantage after 43 minutes.

Fermanagh's Brendan McGarry fired home after a goal-mouth scramble to give his side a 1-11 to 1-9 lead. John Duffy extended that lead on the hour mark.

And Beggan got an injury-time goal to seal victory.

Man of the Match: J Duffy (Fermanagh)

Scorers – Fermanagh: S Corrigan 0-4 (4f), M Beggan, B McGarry 1-0 each, J Duffy 0-3 (3f), R Bogue 0-2, A Breslin, C Rice, K Kehoe 0-1 each. Tyrone: D Casey 0-6 (5f), K Morgan 1-0, G Fox 0-2, J Connolly, M Winters, M Mulgrew 0-1 each.

FERMANAGH – M Curry 6; F Bannon 6, E Morrissey 7, E Mahon 6; N Carson 7, F McBrien 7, K Kehoe 8; J Duffy 9, B Smith 7; A Breslin 7, C Rice 6, R Porteous 7; S Corrigan 7, R Bogue 7, D Teague 6. Subs: B McGarry 7 for Rice (53), M Beggan 8 for Smith (70).

TYRONE – J Devlin 8; C McNally 7, D Maguire 8, C Cross 7; M Winters 7, S Donnelly 7, T Morgan 8; M O'Gorman 7, T Hughes; J Connolly 7, S McKiver6, D Casey 7; G Fox 7, K Morgan 8, M Mulgrew 7.

REF – J Clarke (Cavan)

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport