Wednesday 13 December 2017

Banner flying high as Tribesmen and Tipp overlooked for All Star awards

Goalkeepers: Anthony Nash (Cork)
Goalkeepers: Anthony Nash (Cork)
Goalkeepers: Patrick Kelly (Clare)
Goalkeepers: Gary Maguire (Dublin)
Full-backs: David McInerney (Clare)
Full-backs: Domhnall O'Donovan (Clare)
Full-backs: Richie McCarthy (Limerick)
Full-Backs: Tom Condon (Limerick)
Full-backs: Peter Kelly (Dublin)
Full-backs: Shane O'Neill (Cork)
Full-backs: Conor O'Sullivan (Cork)
Full-backs: Paul Murphy (Kilkenny)
Full-backs: Tomas Waters (Wexford)
Half-backs: Brendan Bugler (Clare)
Half-backs: Patrick Donnellan (Clare)
Half-backs:Liam Rushe (Dublin)
Half-backs: Michael Carton (Dublin)
Half-backs: Brian Murphy (Cork)
Half-backs: Wayne McNamara (Limerick)
Half-backs: Gavin O'Mahony (Limerick)
Half-backs: Kieran Joyce (Kilkenny)
Half-backs: Michael Walsh (Waterford)
Midfielders: Conor Ryan (Clare)
Midfielders: Colm Galvin (Clare)
Midfielders: Joey Boland (Dublin)
Midfielders: Paul Browne (Limerick)
Midfielders: Daniel Kearney (Cork)
Midfielders: Kevin Moran (Waterford)
Half-forwards: Tony Kelly (Clare)
Half-forwards: John Conlon (Clare)
Half-forwards: Colin Ryan (Clare)
Half-forwards: Seamus Harnedy (Cork)
Half-forwards: Patrick Cronin (Cork)
Half-forwards: Conal Keaney (Dublin)
Half-forwards: Danny Sutcliffe (Dublin)
Half-forwards: James Ryan (Limerick)
Half-forwards: Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny)
Full-forwards: Podge Collins (Clare)
Full-forwards: Conor McGrath (Clare)
Full-forwards: Shane O'Donnell (Clare)
Full-forwards: Patrick Hogan (Cork)
Full-forwards: Conor Lehane (Cork)
Full-forwards: Paul Ryan (Dublin)
Full-forwards: David O'Callaghan (Dublin)
Full-forwards: Graeme Mulcahy (Limerick)
Full-forwards: Richie Hogan (Kilkenny)
Donnchadh Boyle

Donnchadh Boyle

GALWAY and Tipperary won't be represented on the All Star team after none of their players featured on the 45-strong list of nominations released last night.

The Tribesmen reached last year's All-Ireland final, but are overlooked after a year that saw them lose to Kilkenny in Leinster and Clare at the All-Ireland quarter-final stage.

Tipperary also endured a short summer by their own standards after they were sent through the back door by Limerick before being beaten by the Cats.

In all seven counties feature, with All-Ireland champions Clare weighing in with 13 followed by nine for beaten finalists Cork and Dublin.

The Banner picked up eight awards in 1995, but that was before the introduction of the back door in 1997, when they won their next All-Ireland. That year, Clare picked up six gongs and they can expect a similarly strong representation this time around.


There was recognition for Dublin's first Leinster success in 52 years, with Liam Rushe and Peter Kelly their best hopes among their nine nominations, while Munster champions Limerick picked up seven. They were followed by Kilkenny, Waterford and Wexford who received four, two and one respectively.

In all, only 13 of last year's nominees have made the shortlist that is missing a number of familiar faces, including Henry Shefflin, whose season was dogged by a foot injury. The Ballyhale maestro has collected a record 11 All Star awards during his career, including 10 in 11 years from 2002-2012.

Shefflin's Kilkenny team-mate Tommy Walsh, who won nine awards in succession, also misses out, but the Cats are represented by corner-back Paul Murphy, half-back Kieran Joyce, Eoin Larkin at half-forward and Richie Hogan in the full-forward line.

However, should those four players miss out on a place in the All Star team, it would be the first time in 32 years that neither Kilkenny or Tipp featured in the selection.

Unsurprisingly Clare, who also secured All-Ireland U-21 success last month, take all three nominations for Young Hurler of the Year with Tony Kelly, Padraic Collins and David McInerney in the running.

Kelly and Collins are also in the running for the senior award, along with Cork goalkeeper Anthony Nash, but that means there is no place for Brendan Bugler.

The final selection for the hurling side will be made on Wednesday, November 6. The football nominations will be released tomorrow and the team will be named at the All Stars banquet, which will be held in Croke Park on Friday, November 8.

The full list of nominations for the 2013 hurling All Stars.

Goalkeepers: A Nash (Cork), P Kelly (Clare), G Maguire (Dublin).

Full-backs: D McInerney (Clare), D O'Donovan (Clare), R McCarthy (Limerick), T Condon (Limerick), P Kelly (Dublin), S O'Neill (Cork), C O'Sullivan (Cork), P Murphy (Kilkenny), T Waters (Wexford).

Half-backs: B Bugler (Clare), P Donnellan (Clare), L Rushe (Dublin), M Carton (Dublin), B Murphy (Cork), W McNamara (Limerick), G O'Mahony (Limerick), K Joyce (Kilkenny), M Walsh (Waterford).

Midfield: C Ryan (Clare), C Galvin (Clare), J Boland (Dublin), P Browne (Limerick), D Kearney (Cork), K Moran (Waterford).

Half-Forwards: T Kelly (Clare), J Conlon (Clare), C Ryan (Clare), S Harnedy (Cork), P Cronin (Cork), C Keaney (Dublin), D Sutcliffe (Dublin), J Ryan (Limerick), E Larkin (Kilkenny).

Full-forwards: P Collins (Clare), C McGrath (Clare), S O'Donnell (Clare), P Horgan (Cork), C Lehane (Cork), P Ryan (Dublin), D O'Callaghan (Dublin), G Mulcahy (Limerick), R Hogan (Kilkenny).

Player of Year

T Kelly (Clare), A Nash (Cork), P Collins (Clare).

Young Player of Year

T Kelly (Clare), D McInerney (Clare), P Collins (Clare).

Indo Sport

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport