Monday 18 December 2017

Hodgson gives clues to starting World Cup XI as squad numbers revealed

England manager Roy Hodgson
England manager Roy Hodgson

England manager Roy Hodgson may have given the first clues over his preferred starting team at the World Cup after the FA announced the squad numbers.

Jack Wilshere and vice-captain Frank Lampard will be pleased with numbers seven and eight respectively, while the likes of Phil Jones, Jordan Henderson and Raheem Sterling will hope it is not an omen ahead of the showpiece event in Brazil.

England's World Cup squad numbers have been revealed, as the Three Lions continue their preparations for the trip to Brazil this summer.

Roy Hodgson and his squad are currently in Portugal, where their fine-tuning for the World Cup continues, before returning to England and facing Peru at Wembley in their final send-off on Friday 30 May.

Captain Steven Gerrard will wear the number 4 shirt, whilst Wayne Rooney receives the 10 jersey and Daniel Sturridge is 9.

England World Cup Squad:

1. Joe Hart

2. Glen Johnson

3. Leighton Baines

4. Steven Gerrard

5. Gary Cahill

6. Phil Jagielka

7. Jack Wilshere

8. Frank Lampard

9. Daniel Sturridge

10. Wayne Rooney

11. Daniel Welbeck

12. Chris Smalling

13. Ben Foster

14. Jordan Henderson

15. Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain

16. Phil Jones

17. James Milner

18. Rickie Lambert

19. Raheem Sterling

20. Adam Lallana

21. Ross Barkley

22. Fraser Forster

23. Luke Shaw

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport