Sunday 25 February 2018

Derby hero Jet going for Shelbourne Gold

Jaytee has had only one run since he won the English Derby final last June. Stock Photo
Jaytee has had only one run since he won the English Derby final last June. Stock Photo
Michael Fortune

Michael Fortune

English Derby champion Jaytee Jet will be making an earlier seasonal debut than was originally planned and is a possible contender for the Best Car Parks Gold Cup which is due to commence at Shelbourne Park on Saturday, January 21.

Jaytee has had only one run since he won the English Derby final last June and trainer Paul Hennessy is anxious to give the dog a few runs to ensure that he is over the little problems which have kept him on the sideline.

The Gowran trainer explains his change of plan: "We have decided not to go for the Scottish Derby as originally planned and the Gold Cup fits nicely into the plans. He will then be trained for the English Derby at Towcester and his other big target will be the Irish Derby in September."

Hennessy has a powerful team as he bids to defend the English Derby with the likes of St Leger winner Priceless Rebel and Comerford Cakes winner Jaytee Samurai forming a really formidable raiding party. They could well commence their seasons in the Easter Cup and the Kirby Memorial respectively.

The first major event at Shelbourne is the Joe Dunne Memorial for 2015 whelps and that will commence on Saturday week while the Red Mills Unraced at Clonmel also kicks off next week.

The arrival of cold weather has caused an early disruption to greyhound action with last night's meeting at Tralee called off and yesterday's trials at Longford, Curraheen Park, Waterford and Youghal were also cancelled. It is hoped that trials can go ahead at Waterford this evening between 5pm and 8pm. No weather problems are anticipated for tomorrow's first meeting of the year at Shelbourne.

There are two gala meetings planned for Saturday. The Limerick & Clare GOBA will stage their annual awards meeting which will feature a high-class 13-race card with all races being finals of sponsored sweepstakes. The awards go to Ocean Jerry, Liosgarbh Ene, Tim Gilbourne, Denis O'Malley and Donal Cooney.

Up at Drumbo, the 2016 award winners William Shaw, Ronnie McKeown, Fane Zeema and Burrendale Tony will be honoured.

Indo Sport

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport