Monday 19 August 2019

Masters tee-times and playing groups revealed as Rory McIlroy gears up for Augusta challenge

Photo: AP
Photo: AP

Rory McIlroy will play with Spaniard Jon Rahm and former champion Adam Scott in the first two rounds of the 2018 Masters tournament, it has been revealed.

The Northern Irishman needs to win at Augusta to complete a career Grand Slam, and will be confident ahead of this week's event after top-10 finishes at the last three Masters'.

McIlroy gets underway alongside Rahm and Scott at 6.38pm Irish time on Thursday, and 3.42pm on Friday.

Meanwhile, Tiger Woods will play his first two rounds with Australian Marc Leishman and Englishman Tommy Fleetwood, with the trio teeing off at 3.42pm Irish time on Thursday.

Last year's champion Sergio Garcia will go out with one of the 2018 favourites, Justin Thomas, as well as amateur Doc Redman, while major champions Bubba Watson, Henrik Stenson and Jason Day will play together.

Here are the tee-times for Thursday's opening round (Irish time):

1:30pm – Austin Cook, Ted Potter, Jr., Wesley Bryan

1:41pm – Ian Woosnam, Ryan Moore, Jhonattan Vegas

1:52pm – Mike Weir, Brendan Steele, Matt Parziale (a)

2:03pm – Jose Maria Olazabal, Kevin Chappell, Dylan Frittelli

2:14pm – Bryson DeChambeau, Bernd Wiesberger, Matthew Fitzpatrick

2:25pm – Mark O’Meara, Brian Harman, Harry Ellis (a)

2:36pm – Vijay Singh, Satoshi Kodaira, Daniel Berger

2:47pm – Kiradech Aphibarnrat, Pat Perez, Francesco Molinari

2:58pm – Danny Willett, Kyle Stanley, Jason Dufner

3:09pm – Hideki Matsuyama, Patton Kizzire, Paul Casey

3:31pm – Zach Johnson, Martin Kaymer, Branden Grace

3:42pm – Tiger Woods, Marc Leishman, Tommy Fleetwood

3:53pm – Sergio Garcia, Justin Thomas, Doc Redman (a)

4:04pm – Bubba Watson, Henrik Stenson, Jason Day

4:15pm – Patrick Reed, Charley Hoffman, Adam Hadwin

4:26pm – Billy Horschel, Chez Reavie, Cameron Smith

4:37pm – Sandy Lyle, Si Woo Kim, Doug Ghim (a)

4:48pm – Trevor Immelman, Ian Poulter, Patrick Cantlay

4:59pm – Angel Cabrera, Ross Fisher, Jimmy Walker

5:10pm – Fred Couples, Haotong Li, Joaquin Niemann (a)

5:32pm – Larry Mize, Russell Henley, Shubhankar Sharma

5:43pm – Bernhard Langer, Tony Finau, Yuta Ikeda

5:54pm – Charl Schwartzel, Webb Simpson, Yuxin Lin (a)

6:05pm – Kevin Kisner, Thomas Pieters, Xander Schauffele

6:16pm – Gary Woodland, Yusaku Miyazato, Tyrrell Hatton

6:27pm – Phil Mickelson, Rickie Fowler, Matt Kuchar

6:38pm – Adam Scott, Rory McIlroy, Jon Rahm

6:49pm – Jordan Spieth, Alex Noren, Louis Oosthuizen

7:00pm – Justin Rose, Dustin Johnson, Rafa Cabrera Bello

Online Editors

The Throw-In All-Ireland Hurling Final preview: Can Tipp's firepower edge clash with the Cats?

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport