Wednesday 13 November 2019

Rory McIlroy continues to sweep up awards as he is named player of the year

Rory McIroy
Rory McIroy

RORY McIlroy was named as the PGA Tour Player of the Year today, capping an outstanding season for the world number one.

The 23-year-old won four titles on the tour during the season, including the PGA Championship, to become – at 23 - the youngest player since Tiger Woods in 1998 to receive the Jack Nicklaus Award as player of the year.

His wins included his second major title at the PGA Championship. The Tour does not release details of the breakdown of the voting – that includes four other nominees, Jason Dufner, Brandt Snedeker, Bubba Watson and Tiger Woods.

The Northern Ireland star also won the PGA Tour money title as well as the Vardon Trophy for the lowest scoring average

John Huh was named as the rookie of the year after becoming the youngest player in more than a decade to qualify for the Tour Championship.

The winners were decided by a vote of eligible tour players.

"These awards are significant to these players as they are bestowed upon them by their peers, one of the highest compliments a player can receive," PGA TOUR Commissioner Tim Finchem said in a statement.

The Left Wing: Champions Cup preview, the World Cup hangover and Joe Schmidt's next team

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport