Sport Golf

Sunday 22 July 2018

Phil Mickelson calls two-shot penalty on himself just weeks after US Open controversy

Phil Mickelson tees off the 12th hole during round three of A Military Tribute At The Greenbrier
Phil Mickelson tees off the 12th hole during round three of A Military Tribute At The Greenbrier

Phil Mickelson was again forced to take a penalty on his return to the course following his controversial actions at the US Open last month.

The American was handed a two-shot penalty at Shinnecock Hills after deliberately hitting his moving ball to avoid a more difficult shot.

Plenty called for him to be disqualified in New York but the penalty was seen as punishment enough - and he took the same penalty at A Military Tribute at The Greenbrier.

This time round the issue seemed much more black and white than at the US Open, Mickelson consulting with an official after tapping down a patch of long grass at the seventh.

He called the two-shot penalty himself for falling foul of rule 13-2: 'Improving Lie, Area of Intended Stance or Swing, or Line of Play.'

The 48-year-old was already struggling to challenge the leaders in West Virginia, starting the day nine shots off the pace.

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport