Eddie Pepperell believes the manner of his disqualification from the Qatar Masters was "a fair distance away from common sense".
The 2018 champion's overall score was correct, but a second disqualification in his last six European Tour events left Pepperell struggling to secure a place in the year's first major at Augusta National.
The 29-year-old, who was disqualified from November's Turkish Airlines Open after running out of balls in the third round, wrote on Twitter: "My DQ today wasn't due to me running out of balls, or hitting anyone, instead, I signed for a wrong score. My total, 71, was correct and I indeed signed for that. However, my partner had me down for a 5 on one hole where I made a 6, and a 4 on another, where I made 3.
"I picked him up on it and I changed the card to reflect the fact I actually made a 6 on hole 11 as opposed to a 5, and a 3 on hole 16 as opposed to a 4. I then however mistakenly changed the 17th hole, not the 16th hole on my scorecard, and handed it in. Therefore this meant I was disqualified.
"The rules are the rules and I 100% accept that, but I can't help feeling that this particular way of disqualification is a fair distance away from common sense."