Monday 22 January 2018

Major moments - Ireland's six of the best

The Open 2007: Padraig Harrington became the first Irishman to win The Open in 60 years. Harrington convincingly prevailed in a four-hole play-off with Sergio Garcia at Carnoustie.

The Open 2008

Harrington defended his title after overcoming a wrist injury at Royal Birkdale. He won with a comfortable lead after fighting off veteran Greg Norman and Ian Poulter.

PGA 2008

Three weeks after his Royal Birkdale victory, Harrington secured his third Major title at Oakland Hills, again leaving a frustrated Garcia in second place, two shots behind.

US Open 2010

Graeme McDowell brought the title to Europe for the first time in 40 years. On Father's Day, he sealed a one-shot victory over France's Gregory Havret at Pebble Beach.

US Open 2011

Rory McIlroy set several US Open records in winning the title at Congressional, including finishing with the lowest total under-par (-16) which gave him an eight-shot victory.

The Open 2011

Darren Clarke claimed the sixth Irish Major and third British Open triumph in four years by holding off Americans Phil Mickelson and Dustin Johnson on the final day.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport