Sunday 18 March 2018

'Honoured' McDowell tees off season at Pebble Beach

Graeme McDowell won the 2010 US Open at Pebble Beach
Graeme McDowell won the 2010 US Open at Pebble Beach
Liam Kelly

Liam Kelly

Graeme McDowell opens his 2014 season at Pebble Beach, the course on which he won the 2010 US Open, tomorrow week in the AT&T National Pro-Am.

And he will do so with the honour of having been voted 'Professional of the Year' in the Irish Golf Writers' Association awards for 2013, sponsored by Carr Golf Group.

Last year McDowell (34) triumphed in the RBC Heritage tournament on the PGA Tour and won twice in Europe, claiming the Volvo World Matchplay Championship and Alstom French Open titles.

Ryder Cup captain Paul McGinley will attend the presentation function at Portmarnock GC on March 6 to receive the 'Distinguished Services Award' for his magnificent overall contribution to Irish golf.

Robbie Cannon of Balbriggan GC is a worthy selection as 'Men's Amateur of the Year'.

A former South of Ireland champion, the 34-year-old Dubliner headed an international field to win the prestigious Irish Amateur Open championship in Royal Dublin last May.

Cannon is one of eight GUI players competing in the Free State & Northern Cape Stroke Play championship from Friday to Sunday this week at Schoeman Park Golf Club in South Africa.

The others are: Jack Hume (Naas), Gary Hurley (West Waterford), Geoff Lenehan (Portmarnock), Dermot McElroy (Ballymena), Rory McNamara (Headfort), Chris Selfridge (Moyola Park) and Reeve Whitson (Mourne).

Irish Women's Close champion Paula Grant (Lisburn) was voted the 'Women's Amateur of the Year'.

Grant joins Olivia Mehaffey (Royal Co Down Ladies) and Mary Doyle (The Heath) as the ILGU representatives in the Portuguese International Ladies championship which starts at Montado today.

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport