Sport Golf

Saturday 24 March 2018

Finalists prepare for big day

THE Golfing Union of Ireland will be contacting all the qualifiers for the final of the GUI-Irish Independent 'Most Improved Golfer' competition with timesheet and other details.

Finalists will compete over the Montgomerie Course at Carton House on Thursday, September 29, for the title of 'Most Improved Golfer' of the year. In addition, there will be a Golf Clinic at the GUI's National Academy plus a post-round dinner at which the prizes will be presented.


Category 1: David Brennan (Cobh), Colin Wilton (Banbridge), Ciaran Campbell (Carton House), Ciaran Blaney (Co Meath), Niall Carroll (The Heritage), Cian Heffernan (Nenagh), Michael Lane (Athenry), Mark Richards (Roganstown), Seamus Cullen (Slieve Russell), James Cullinane (Liselan), Pat Fitzpatrick (Kanturk).

Category 2: David Lynch (Castlecomer), Alex Keaney (Old Conna), Philip Ryan (Slievenamon), Daire Creavin (Killeen Castle), Derek Lynch (Castlecomer), Shane Curtin (Castletroy), James Ormonde (Killarney), Mark Kennedy (Mannan Castle), Michael Reen (Woodstock), Mark Elliott (Edmondstown), Owen O'Keeffe (Ballykisteen).

Category 3: Brian Brangan (Swords), Stephen Weir (Co Armagh), James Bolger (Blarney), Paschal McSweeney (Slievenamon), Gerard Cuddihy (Carlow), Peter Murray (Carlow), David Stevenson (Castlereagh Hills), Cathal Horan (Portarlington), Steven Ryan (Co Tipperary), Colin Byrne (Monkstown), Alan Tyghe (Wexford), Michael Cannon (Loughrea).

Category 4: Martin Clarke (Bellewstown), Adrian Wall (Ballina), Thomas Alcorn (Dunfanaghy), Alan Tierney(Tulfarris), Liam Shovelin (Letterkenny), James McEvoy (Dublin Mountain), David Quinn (Stackstown), Shane Kelly (Ballinasloe), Alan Howard (Delgany), Jamie Shortt (Old Conna), Thomas Farrell (Carton House).

•EDMONDSTOWN gc stages the prestigious Dublin Team Trophy sponsored by Golfsure Personal on Sunday. The competition is for teams of four players ranging between eight and 15 handicap. Beech Park hold the record with five victories, while Slade Valley are on three and Milltown, Malahide, Old Conna, and Kilcoole have two titles each.

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport