Sunday 15 December 2019

Connacht clinch crown

Connacht staged a remarkable recovery against Leinster to win the Interprovincial Championship for the first time in almost 30 years at County Sligo GC.

The host province trailed 4-0 after the morning foursomes, having gone into the final day needing to beat Leinster to be sure of the title, or to draw and hope Munster did not beat Ulster.

The latter scenario worked out, with Connacht clinching five-and-a-half points from the available seven in the singles to clinch the title in the tightest of circumstances.

Eddie McCormack, Michael Durcan, Steffan O'Hara, Kelan McDonagh and anchor Joe Lyons all won their games, with Barry Anderson's half against Paul Dunne also counting towards that crucial total in offsetting the Leinster victory by Richard O'Donovan.

Ulster, meanwhile, found themselves 3-1 ahead against Munster after the morning foursomes.

In the afternoon, victories for Aaron Kearney, Luke Lennox, Nicky Grant and Colm Campbell, in addition to half-points from Harry Diamond and Connor Doran contributed to an 8-3 victory for the Northerners.

Munster clinched the Boys Interprovincial title with a superb victory over Leinster in the final series of matches. Munster led by 2-1 after the morning foursomes, and victories in the afternoon singles from Colm O'Sullivan, Gary Hurley, Jack Leacy and Eoin Harris paved the way for their success.

Robin Dawson halved with Gavin Moynihan in the final match, while Leinster's wins came from Jack Hume and Keegan Cummings.

Ulster, meanwhile, came back against Connacht after losing two-and-a-half points from the first three singles to win the final four ties for a 6-4 success -- Tim Jordan, John Ross Galbraith, Matthew Kane and Matt McClean the victors.

Irish Independent

The Left Wing: John Cooney on Ulster's European run and bouncing back from World Cup disappointment

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport