Wednesday 21 August 2019

Morris strikes late to sink Rebels in thrilling Munster finale

Tipperary 3-15 Cork 2-17

Tipperary manager Liam Cahill. Photo: Sportsfile
Tipperary manager Liam Cahill. Photo: Sportsfile

Jake Morris fired an added-time winner as Tipperary dethroned the Munster U-20 hurling champions with a stylish come-from-behind victory at Semple Stadium.

Tipperary looked dead and buried on a handful of occasions in front of 9,117 spectators in Thurles, but particularly when Cork substitute Evan Sheehan crashed a ground stroke to the net with one minute of normal time remaining to give Cork the lead.

Darragh Woods cut that lead straight away at the other end, before Brian Turnbull hit back, but Morris's crisp shot beat Ger Collins in the 63rd minute to give Tipp a memorable victory.

All is not lost for Cork who now go on to face Leinster champions Kilkenny in the All-Ireland semi-final, while Tipperary will meet Wexford.

"It was a great performance from our fellas to pull it out of the fire in the end. A never-say-die attitude is great to see," said Tipperary manager Liam Cahill (right). "It fell to the right man in Jake Morris. He might have had a quiet game tonight by his standards, but he's a lethal player."

Goals at each end of the first half also proved crucial for Tipperary with a well-struck effort from Conor Bowe on the turn and another from substitute Kian O'Kelly keeping them in touch.

Between the tenth and 18th minutes Cork experienced their best period of the game when they scored six of the seven points scored in that time. Their defence won high ball in front of the Tipp forwards, while at the other end Shane O'Regan, Seán Twomey and Craig Hanifin found their range.

The introduction of O'Kelly was a key move for Tipperary. Morris added a couple of frees and Gearóid O'Connor pointed after Cork failed to clear their lines, but O'Kelly's excellent individual goal just before the break meant the teams were level at 2-7 to 1-0.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

With Robert Downey making an impression, Cork opened out a three-point lead after the break with Turnbull, Twomey and Hanifin on target, but Tipp hit back with three of their own to level it again in the 46th minute.

The next two scores came from Tipperary's Bryan O'Mara and Bowe, but after Pádraig Power squared the game Cork looked likeliest winners. Bowe put Tipp ahead a minute from time, but when Sheehan crashed his shot to the net, victory looked to be Cork's, only for Morris to step up with the winner.

Scorers - Tipperary: C Bowe 1-4; J Morris 1-3 (2f); K O'Kelly 1-0; A Ormond 0-2; B Seymour, J Cahill, G O'Connor, C Connolly, B O'Mara, D Woods 0-1 each. Cork: S Twomey 1-2; C Hanifin 0-4 (3f); S O'Regan 0-3; E Sheehan 1-0; D Connery 0-2 (1f); B Turnbull 0-2; T O'Connell, R Walsh, P Power, E Roche 0-1 each.

Tipperary - A Browne; C McCarthy, E Connolly, C Morgan (capt); M Purcell, B O'Mara, P Cadell; J Fogarty, J Cahill; C Connolly, J Morris, G O'Connor; B Seymour, A Ormond, C Bowe. Subs: K O'Kelly for Fogarty (19), N Heffernan for Purcell (h-t), J Ryan for Seymour (45), D Woods for O'Kelly (52), R McCormack for Ormond (63).

Cork - G Collins; C O'Callaghan, J Keating (capt), E Roche; R Downey, G Millerick, S O'Leary Hayes; D Connery, R Walsh; T O'Connell, C Hanifin, S Twomey; B Turnbull, S O'Regan, L O'Shea. Subs: S Kennefick for O'Shea (h-t), E Sheehan for O'Regan (47), P Power for Downey (50), B Murphy for Hanifin (56).

Ref - T Walsh (Waterford)

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: Tipp throw off the shackles while Kilkenny’s soul-searching begins

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport