Sunday 21 July 2019

Bowe double helps Tipp crush Déise

Bord Gáis Energy Munster U-20 HC: Tipperary 3-23 Waterford 0-10

Waterford's Mairtín Power takes a sideline cut. Photo: Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile
Waterford's Mairtín Power takes a sideline cut. Photo: Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile
Paddy Cadell of Tipperary looks for a way past Waterford players, from left, Seán Whelan-Barrett, Ian Beecher, and Tom Barron. Photo: Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile
Waterford goalkeeper Dean Beecher can do little to stop Conor Bowe's shot hit the net for his side's second goal. Photo: Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile
Tipperary's Conor McCarthy is hounded by Oisín Ó Ceallaigh, left, and Michael Kiely of Waterford. Photo: Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile
Andrew Ormond shows composure to get away from Waterford defenders. Photo: Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile Sportsdesk

It was all too easy for Tipperary in Semple Stadium as they defeated Waterford by 22 points to progress to the Munster U-20 hurling final.

In a low-key encounter, Tipperary flexed their muscles in the first half to open up an 0-11 to 0-5 half-time advantage without ever clicking into top gear.

Jake Morris top-scored with 13 points, 11 from frees, in a stop-start encounter in which Tipperary put the game to early in the second half with three goals in the space of eight minutes, the first two from corner-forward Conor Bowe with Joe Fogarty adding the third on the three-quarter mark, running onto a Billy Seymour pass.

The win was so comfortable that Tipperary's three senior panellists in Morris, Jerome Cahill and Paddy Cadell were able to be withdrawn around the three-quarter mark in advance of their All-Ireland senior quarter-final with Laois next Sunday.

Waterford offered little, managing just two points from play with Billy Power their best attacking weapon with eight points from placed balls.

Tipperary will host either Cork or Clare in the final in two weeks' time.

Scorers - Tipperary: J Morris 0-13 (11f); C Bowe 2-2; B Seymour 0-4 (3f); J Fogarty 1-0; G O'Connor 0-2; S Hayes, A Ormond 0-1 each. Waterford: B Power 0-8f; T Barron, J Power 0-1 each.

Tipperary - A Browne; C Morgan, M Purcell, C McCarthy; C Connolly, B O'Mara, E Connolly; P Cadell, J Cahill; G O'Connor, J Fogarty, C Bowe; B Seymour, S Hayes, J Morris. Subs: K O'Kelly for Hayes (47); J Ryan for Cahill (48); A Ormond (0-1) for Morris (49); N Heffernan for Cadell (50); D Ryan for O'Connor (53).

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Waterford - D Beecher; T Looby, J Flavin, S Fitzgerald; D Booth, I Daly, B Lynch; B Power, S Whelan-Barrett; T Barron, I Beecher, G Fives; O Ó Ceallaigh, M Kiely, J Power. Subs: M Power for Lynch (21-24 blood); T Foley for Fitzgerald (39); E O'Reilly for Whelan-Barrett (42); M Twomey for O Ceallaigh (45); M Power for Booth (46); L O'Brien for Daly (55).

Ref - J Murphy (Limerick)

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: Kerry back to their best, Connolly’s return and Cork’s baffling inconsistency

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport