Monday 26 August 2019

Ten of the best for Whelan as Laois dethrone Kildare

Eirgrid Leinster U-20 FC: Laois 0-17 Kildare 1-11

Laois send Kildare packing and set up a quarter-final against Westmeath. Stock photo
Laois send Kildare packing and set up a quarter-final against Westmeath. Stock photo Sportsdesk

Diarmuid Whelan struck a magnificent ten points as Laois ended Kildare's reign as Leinster and All-Ireland U-20 champions at in St Conleths Park last night.

Kildare started sharply, 0-4 to 0-1 ahead by the eighth minute. Even at that stage, Laois were looking dangerous and Whelan (2) and Doran struck to level by the 13th.

As momentum flowed from one end to the other, Kildare then scored the next four points to move 0-8 to 0-4 ahead by the 21st minute.

However, Laois moved up a gear and outscored Kildare by 0-10 to 0-1 over the next half hour. Eoin Dunne scored a well struck 45 as they scored the last three points of the half to go in 0-8 to 0-7 behind.

After wing back Dean Brophy scored the first point of the restart, Whelan scored three in a row to push Laois 0-11 to 0-8 ahead.

Darragh Kirwan knocked over Kildare's first score in the second half but by then, the signs were ominous as Doran, Whelan and Coffey got scores.

There were over six minutes added on and in the fifth of those, Kildare won a penalty. Luke Griffin stepped up confidently and slotted to briefly cause some panic among the Laois support in the crowd.

However, they went up the field and fittingly it was Whelan who got on the ball and fired over his tenth point of the game to send Kildare packing and set up a quarter-final against Westmeath.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Scorers - Laois: D Whelan 0-10 (3fs), M Doran 0-4, R Coffey 0-1, D Brophy 0-1, E Dunne 0-1 (45). Kildare: L Griffin 1-2 (2fs), D Kirwan 0-3, C Joyce 0-2, J Cully 0-2 (f), B McDonnell, L O'Flynn 0-1 each.

Laois: M Byron; M Dowling, S Lacey, A Mohan; C Slevin, J Lacey, D Brophy; R Tyrell, E Dunne; R Coffey, M Doran, N Dunne; A Kinsella, D McCormack, D Whelan. Subs: J Owens for McCormack 49; M Dempsey for Dunne, 57; PJ Daly for Doran 60; J Maher for Kinsella 60+2; K Byrne for Slevin 60+4.

Kildare: A O'Neill; N O'Sullivan, M Barrett, C Halpin; E McGovern, DJ Earley, D Ryan; J Carey, J Burke; L O'Flynn, D Kirwan, B McDonnell; C Joyce, J Cully, L Griffin. Subs: S Cullen for O'Flynn 38; P Behan for Carey 40; S O'Sullivan for Joyce 40; B Stynes for Halpin 46b/c; P McDermott for McGovern 51; A Steed for McDonnell, 58.

Ref - B Tiernan (Dublin).

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: Tipp throw off the shackles while Kilkenny’s soul-searching begins

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport