Monday 16 September 2019

Evan O'Brien and Tommy Conroy lead Mayo charge into Connacht final

EirGrid Connacht U-20FC semi-final: Mayo 1-25 Sligo 1-6

Mayo's Tommy Conroy
Mayo's Tommy Conroy

Six points from Evan O’Brien helped Mayo return to the Connacht U-20 final after they destroyed Sligo at a roasting MacHale Park.

Tommy Conroy also added five points for the home side, while Oisín Mullin piled on the misery with a late goal for the defending champions.

Mayo started brightly with Conroy and Aiden Orme on target, while Sligo’s Barry Gorman kept them in touch.

Alan Reilly clipped over a free to close the gap, but their challenge folded. With Sligo’s full-back line suffering, Mayo’s forwards helped themselves to eight straight points, with an unsuccessful penalty from Reilly the only pause in Mayo’s dominance.

With O’Brien and Gavin Durcan totally dominant at midfield, Mayo quickly added to their 0-12 to 0-2 lead after the restart with the duo adding further scores to their tally, while Stephen McGreal also weighed in with two quick points.

Ten minutes from time Sean Carroll’s goal gave Sligo some solace, only for Mullin to hit back at the other end.

Scorers – Mayo: E O’Brien 0-6 (4f), T Conroy 0-5, A Orme 0-3 (1f), S McGreal 0-3, O Mullin 1-0, P Goldrick, G Durcan 0-2 each, J Gallagher, N Moran, M Moran, P Towey 0-1 each. Sligo: B Gorman 0-4 (1f), S Carroll 1-0, A Reilly 0-1 (1f), S Deignan 0-1 (1f).

Mayo: J McNicholas; J Coyne, R Brickenden, O Mullin; A McDonnell, C Beirne, E McLaughlin; E O’Brien, G Durcan; J Gallagher, P Towey, P Goldrick; A Orme, S McGreal, T Conroy. Subs: D McBrien for Coyne (13 BC), D Gannon for McLaughlin (h-t), N Moran for Goldrick (42), M Moran for McGreal (45), K Conway for Gallagher (48), C Gavin for Conroy (54).

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Sligo: A Davey; D Barrett, J Ellis, E Lyons; K McKenna, R McHugh (c), C Surlis; S Deignan, D McDermott; J Carroll, A Reilly, N Connolly; L Towey, B Gorman, G Gorman. Subs: S Carroll for J Carroll (21), C Marren for McDermott (h-t), H Gilvary Connolly (h-t), C Brett Reilly (36), P Flynn McKenna (49), E Hallinan Barrett (55).

Referee: J Molloy (Galway).

Online Editors

The Throw-In: 'Jim Gavin has achieved what Mick O'Dwyer and Brian Cody couldn't do'

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Also in Sport