Tuesday 20 February 2018

Team news: James McCarthy in Dublin starting XV, Clare unchanged, changes for Tipp and Deise

Dublin's James McCarthy
Dublin's James McCarthy

James McCarthy replaces John Small in Jim Gavin's only change for Sunday's Leinster final with Westmeath at Croke Park.

The only other change from Dublin's 19-point hammering of Kildare is a positional one as Kevin McManamon starts at full-forward instead of centre-forward and Diarmuid Connolly reverts to his more usual role at wing-forward.


1. Stephen Cluxton (Parnells)


2. Jonny Cooper (Na Fianna)

3. Rory O’Carroll (Kilmacud Crokes)

4. Philly McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams)


5. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)

6. Cian O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes)

7. Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf)


8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)

9. Micahel Darragh Macauley (Ballyboden St Endas)


10. Paul Flynn (Fingallians)

11. Ciaran Kilkenny (Castleknock)

12. Diarmuid Connolly (St Vincents)


13. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)

14. Kevin McManamon (St Judes)

15. Bernard Brogan (St Oliver Plunketts/Eoghan Ruadh)


Davy Fitzgerald has kept faith with the same team that accounted for Offaly with ease last weekend, meaning there is no place for Colm Galvin or captain Patrick Donnellan who returns from suspension.


1. Patrick Kelly (Inagh-Kilnamona)


2. David McInerney (Tulla)

3. Cian Dillon, Capt. (Crusheen)

4. Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge)


5. Brendan Bugler (Whitegate)

6. Patrick O’Connor (Tubber)

7. Jack Browne (Ballyea)


8. Conor Ryan (Cratloe)

9. Tony Kelly (Ballyea)


10. John Conlon (Clonlara)

11. Colin Ryan (Newmarket-on-Fergus)

12. Shane Golden (Sixmilebridge)


13. Darach Honan (Clonlara)

14. Shane O’Donnell (Éire Óg)

15. Conor McGrath (Cratloe)


There is one change in Derek McGrath's Waterford team with Michael Devine starting ahead of Brian O'Halloran.


1. Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner)


2. Shane Fives (Tourin)

3. Barry Coughlan (Ballygunner)

4. Noel Connors (Passage)


5. Tadhg de Búrca (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg)

6. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)

7. Philip Mahony (Ballygunner)


8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)

9. Tom Devine (Modeligo)


10. Kevin Moran (De La Salle)

11. Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart)

12. Jake Dillon (De La Salle)


13. Maurice Shanahan (Lismore)

14. Michael Walsh (Stradbally)

15. Colin Dunford (Colligan)


Eamon O'Shea has recalled last year's Young Hurler of the Year Cathal Barrett into his XV for Sunday's Munster final.

He replaces the injured Paddy Stapleton.

In the only other change, Conor O’Brien loses out with Ronan Maher dropping from the half-back line to fill the number 4 shirt. Michael Breen will play in the half-back line in his first championship start for the Premier county.



1. Darren Gleeson (Portroe)


2. Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill)

3. James Barry (Upperchurch Drombane)

4. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)


5. Michael Breen (Ballina)

6. Pádraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)

7. Kieran Bergin (Killenaule)


8. James Woodlock (Drom & Inch)

9. Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch)


10. Jason Forde (Silvermines)

11. Brendan Maher (Borrisoleigh)

12. Patrick Maher (Lorrha/Dorrha)


13. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)

14. Seamus Callanan (Drom & Inch)

15. Niall O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonaghs)


Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport