Friday 24 November 2017

Team news: Clare All Star David McInerney ruled out of League quarter-final while Mayo make three changes for Roscommon test

Clare hurler David McInerney
Clare hurler David McInerney

Michael Verney

CLARE’S bid to maintain their unbeaten run in 2016 has been dealt a significant blow with All-Star David McInerney ruled out of their Allianz HL quarter-final against Tipperary on Sunday week in Ennis.

The Tulla defender, relocated to centre-back this season, gave a man-of-the-match performance last weekend as the Banner clinched promotion against Limerick but a back injury will see him ruled out for up to four weeks.

McInerney has been advised to rest to prevent further injury before the championship and if Clare progress, he could also miss out on the latter stages of their league campaign.

Manager Davy Fitzgerald is already planning without Tony Kelly, All-Ireland-winning captain Pat Donnellan (long-term), Shane Golden, Jack Browne and Seadna Morey but McInerney’s absence will be a serious setback to the Banner.

Elsewhere, a bumper year for Dublin universities in the Sigerson Cup was rewarded as winners UCD and runners-up DCU accounted for 12 places on the competition’s All-Star team.

The Belfield college had seven members on the Future Champions 15, with notable players like current Footballer of the Year Jack McCaffrey, Dublin team-mate Paul Mannion and Monaghan’s Ryan Wylie making the cut.

The Fitzgibbon Cup selection was dominated by winners Mary I, with seven players represented, including Limerick stars Declan Hannon and Cian Lynch, and Tipp pair Ronan Maher and John McGrath.

Meanwhile, Mayo make three changes for their crunch Division 1 NFL tie against Roscommon tomorrow with Chris Barrett, Evan Regan and Conor Loftus coming in.

They replace Donal Vaughan, Kevin McLoughlin and Cathal Carolan as Stephen Rochford’s side fight for survival against their Connacht rivals while Cork boss Peadar Healy has named an unchanged team for tomorrow’s clash with Down.

CORK (SF v Down): R Price; C O’Driscoll, E Cadogan, K Crowley; T Clancy, J O Sullivan, B O’Driscoll; K O’Driscoll, I Maguire; S Kiely, P Kerrigan, M Collins; C O’Neill, P Kelleher, L Connolly.

MAYO (SF v Roscommon): R Hennelly; B Harrison, G Cafferkey, C Barrett; L Keegan, C Boyle, S Nally; T Parsons, S O’Shea; D O’Connor, A O’Shea, C Loftus; E Regan, J Doherty, C O’Shea. Sigerson All-Stars: P O’Donnell (DCU); R Wylie (UCD), K Feely (DCU), D Byrne (UCD); M Fitzsimons (UCD), C Moynagh (DCU), J McCaffrey (UCD); L Casey (UCD), N McKeever (UUJ); C Begley (DCU), K Hughes (UUJ), D McKenna (DKIT); P Mannion (UCD), J Heslin (UCD), S Carey (DCU). Fitzgibbon All-Stars: P Maher (UL); P Killeen (LIT), R English (Mary I), J Browne (UL); R Maher (Mary I), B Heffernan (UL), J Meagher (Mary I); D O’Donovan (Mary I), F O Riain Broin (TCD); P Guinan (UCD), C Lynch (Mary I), S Linnane (Mary I); J McGrath (UL), D Hannon (Mary I), T Morrissey (UL).

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport