Friday 19 January 2018

WATCH: Watch dramatic finish as NUIG deny Cork IT place in Fitzgibbon Cup quarter-finals despite never leading

Cork IT 0-19 NUI Galway 0-19 Newsdesk Newsdesk

Despite never leading, NUI Galway advanced to the quarter-finals of the Fitzgibbon Cup as Ian Fox's late equaliser earned them a draw to edge out Cork IT on scoring difference.

Trailing by four points at half-time, 0-12 to 0-8, NUIG fell seven behind as Jerry O'Neill, Michael Kearney and John O'Dwyer pointed on the resumption for the home side, who played almost all of the game with 14 men. They would only manage four more points however, as NUIG - the hosts of the finals weekend - began to inch their way back into the game.

Four points in a row had the visitors back to within a goal but CIT looked to have weathered the storm as Michael Cahalane and Kearney made it 0-18 to 0-13.

Twice, NUIG might have had a goal but subs Conor Whelan and Aiden Helebert were both denied by fantastic Patrick Collins. Nevertheless, Ger Hennelly (two), Whelan and McHugo left just a point in it with time almost up.

When a long-range Kearney free made it 0-19 to 0-17, CIT looked to have done enough.

Whelan responded for NUIG but O'Dywer nearly made it a two-point lead again only for Cathal Tuohy took down his effort.

The goalkeeper launched a last attack and Oisin Donnellan set up Fox for the leveller and NUIG advanced to meet holders Mary Immaculate College in the last eight.

Despite losing Colm Keane to an early red card, CIT were very good in the first half with O'Dwyer and Kearney central for them.

Hennelly got all but one of the NUIG first-period points but they always stayed in touch and then pushed on in the second half.

NIUG face holders Mary Immaculate College away next week.

Scorers – Cork IT: M Kearney 0-8 (6f), J O’Dwyer 0-5 (4f), M Cahalane, J O’Neill 0-2 each, J Good, A Coffey 0-1 each. NUI Galway: G Hennelly 0-11 (8f, 2 65), I Fox, K McHugo, C Whelan 0-2 each, O Donnellan, G Loughnane 0-1 each.

CORK IT: P Collins; K Galvin, D Fanning, E Healy; D Noonan, C O’Neill, J Buckley; J Good, R Hanley; A Coffey, M Kearney, J O’Neill; C Keane, J O’Dwyer, M Cahalane. Subs: B Lyons for Healy (35), T O’Connor for Good (44), C Kingston for O’Neill (48), K Duggan for Noonan (49), C Prunty for Hanley (60).

NUI GALWAY: C Tuohy; G Fennelly, C Ryan, G Forde; S Moloney, C Cleary, M Connelly; I Fox, O Donnellan; C Whelan, K McHugo, N Mitchell; G Loughnane, S Conlon, G Hennelly. Subs: A Helebert for Conlon (half-time), J Cummins for Mitchell (42).

Referee: F Horgan (Tipperary)

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport