Wednesday 12 December 2018

Mary I begin the defence of their Fitzgibbon Cup crown with victory over Trinity

Mary Immaculate 3-20 Trinity College 3-12

Mary I had eight points to spare over Trinity
Mary I had eight points to spare over Trinity Newsdesk Newsdesk

WITH Aaron Gillane absent, Michael O’Loughlin took over the freetaking role for Mary Immaculate and contributed eight points as the holders picked up their first win of this year’s Fitzgibbon Cup.

But it was far from one-way traffic in a game that Mary I were expected to win easily.

An early goal from Brian Corry got the champions off to a perfect start and they led by 1-3 to 0-2 after only eight minutes. By half-time, the Limerick side led by double scores, 1-7 to 0-5, and ten minutes into the second half nine points separated them. Trinity failed to score from play in the half with Fionn ó Riain Broin getting their five points from frees.

The Trinity forwards caused major problems for the favourites in the second half and the concession of three goals will not have pleased coach Jamie Wall. His side lost Clare panellist Garry Cooney after 25 minutes to injury, while Galway’s All-Ireland winner Thomas Monohan did not start due to injury.

A goal by Donncha Butler raised a glimmer of hope for Trinity but within a minute Michael Corry had Mary I’s second. Tim O’Mahony had the third goal for the winners after 50 minutes to open a gap of 14 points. Brave Trinity had no intention of throwing in the towel and they had two late goals by Conor O’Carroll.

Mary I must beat NUIG to qualify for the quarter-finals.

Scorers – Mary I: M O’Loughlin 0-8 (7f 1 ‘65), B Corry 1-1, C Lynch 0-4, T O’Mahony and M Corry 1-0 each, E Cahill (2f) P Ryan 0-2 each, T Grimes, L meade, J Mackey 0-1 each. Trinity: F O Riain Broin 0-9 (8f 1’65’), C O’Carroll 2-0, D Butler 1-0, J Walsh, C Guilfoyle, S O’Connor 0-1 each.

Mary Immaculate – E Cahill; C McCullagh, D Prendergast, D Peters; T O’Mahony, S Taylor, T Grimes; J Mackey, P Ryan; M O’Loughlin, C Lynch, L Meade; G Cooney, C Guilfoyle, B Corry. Subs: M Corry for Cooney (inj, 26), N Heffernan for Mackey (49), J Hardiman for Meade (52).

Trinity College – E Skelly; C Henry, D O’Donoghue, D Ryan; E McNamara, L Corcoran, M Malone; M O’Keeffe, J O’Neill; F O Riain Broin, S O’Connor, C O Riain; J Walsh, C O’Carroll, C O’Sullivan. Subs: C O Ceallaign for O’Neill (40), D Butler for Walsh (40), C Keating for Henry (54), R Gorey for C O Riain (55), C Heeney for O’Keeffe (57), K Wade for F O Riain Broin (60).

Ref – J Keane (Galway)

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, a trip to Old Trafford to watch Man United take on Liverpool in the Premier League, tickets to Ireland's home games in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport