Monday 18 November 2019

Revealed: The provincial draws for the 2016 All-Ireland hurling and football championships

Dublin and Kilkenny will be favourites to retain their respective crowns in 2016
Dublin and Kilkenny will be favourites to retain their respective crowns in 2016

Cormac Byrne

All-Ireland football champions Dublin will begin the defence of their All-Ireland crown against either Laois or Wicklow in the Leinster championship.

Louth will play Carlow for the right to play Meath with the Royals and the Dubs on the same side of the draw.

In the other Leinster quarter-finals, Cian O'Neill's Kildare will face Wexford in the last eight while Westmeath will wait for the winners of Longford and Offaly in the last eight.

The big match-up in the quarter-finals in Ulster will see Mickey Harte's Tyrone take on Derry in what promises to be a mouthwatering game.

2012 All-Ireland champions Donegal will face the winners of Fermanagh and Antrim, Ulster champions Monaghan will begin the defence of their crown against Down and Kieran McGeeney's Armagh will have to meet Cavan.

There has been massive upheaval in Mayo and it's still unclear who will be steering them towards a sixth Connacht title in a row.

They will face London in Ruislip in the quarter-finals and a semi-final encounter with age-old rival Galway looks highly likely.

Kevin McStay and Fergie O'Donnell will bring Roscommon to New York for a preliminary round game with Leitrim waiting for the winners and whomever is victorious will face Sligo in the last four.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

All-Ireland runners-up Kerry will face either Clare or Limerick in the final four in Munster.

Managerless Cork will take on either Tipperary, who have been dealt a huge blow with the loss of Colin O'Riordan, or Waterford with a Cork-Kerry final looking likely in the southern province.

All-Ireland hurling champions Kilkenny will face either Dublin or Wexford in the semi-finals of the Leinster championship.

On the other side of the draw, the round-robin group containing Offaly, Westmeath, Carlow and Kerry will vie for quarter-final encounters against Galway or Laois.

It remains to be seen if Anthony Cunningham will be in charge of the Tribesmen in 2016, if he is, he will be planning for a meeting with the group winners, while Laois will encounter the runners-up.

New Cork hurling boss has been handed the daunting task of having to mastermind a victory over Munster champions Tipperary in their provincial quarter-final.

The winners will face Limerick in the last four, while on the other side of the draw there is a mouthwatering clash between Davy Fitzgerald's Clare, who will have Podge Collins in their ranks, and 2015 National League champions Waterford.

Here are the details of the provincial draws for the 2016 All-Ireland Hurling and Football Championships:



First Round

Laois v Wicklow

Louth v Carlow

Longford v Offaly



Laois/Wicklow v Dublin

Louth/Carlow v Meath


Winners to meet in semi-final(A)



Longford/Offaly v Westmeath

Wexford v Kildare


Winners to meet in semi-final(A)



Premliminary Round

Fermanagh v Antrim


Quarter-finals (A)

Derry v Tyrone

Cavan v Armagh


Winners to face in semi-final(A)



Monaghan v Down

Donegal v Fermanagh/Antrim


Winners to play in semi-final(B)



Preliminary Round

Roscommon v New York


Quarter-final (A)

Roscommon/New York v Leitrim



Mayo v London


Semi-final (A)

Roscommon or New York/ Leitrim v Sligo


Semi-final (B)

Mayo/London v Galway




Tipperary v Waterford

Clare v Limerick



Clare/Limerick v Kerry

Tipperary/Waterford v Cork



Qualifier Group

Offaly, Westmeath, Carlow, Kerry



Dublin v Wexford (A)

Group winner v Galway(B)

Group runners-up v Laois (C)



Dublin/Wexford v Kilkenny

Galway/Group winners v Laois/Group runners-up




Cork v Tipperary



Waterford v Clare

Limerick v Cork/Tipperary

Online Editors

The Throw-In: 'Jim Gavin has achieved what Mick O'Dwyer and Brian Cody couldn't do'

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport