Sunday 25 February 2018

Liam Rushe fit for Dublin hurlers while Rebels name unchanged team

Liam Rushe
Liam Rushe
Cliona Foley

Cliona Foley

Liam Rushe has been passed fit to take his starting place for Dublin’s hurlers when they begin their Leinster title defence against Wexford tomorrow.

Anthony Daly’s side start with only 10 of the team that began last year's All-Ireland semi-final against Cork.

Alan Nolan takes over in goals from the injured Gary Maguire and Shane Durkin replaces Niall Corcoran in defence but starts at wing-back, with Stephen Hiney named at corner-back.

Alan McCrabbe, who returned to the panel this year, starts at right-half forward, Cuala's Colm Cronin debuts on the other wing and and Mark Schutte starts at top of the left, with the injured Sutcliffe, Paul Ryan and David Treacy losing out. Conal Keaney is named at full-forward.

Monaghan’s Ciaran McManus has failed in his bid to recover in time for their Ulster semi-final against Tyrone and they have three changes from the team that beat Donegal in the Division Two final.

Dick Clerkin replaces Owen Lennon in midfield, Padraig Donaghy comes in at centre-forward for Stephen Gollogly and Jack McCarron replaces McManus at corner-forward.

Injuries are partly responsible for Tyrone’s three changes from the side that beat Down in a replay, with

Stephen O’Neill, Martin Penrose and Conan Grugan coming in to replace Conor Clarke, Kyle Coney and Emmet McKenna.

Cork hurlers have named an unchanged side from last weekend’s drawn game with Waterford for their Munster semi-final with Clare and the Waterford footballers are also unchanged for their quarter-final replay with Clare, who will be without Podge Collins but will have his brother Sean.

Carlow's football team to face Meath has only three players - Daniel St Ledger, Brendan Kavanagh and Darragh Foley - from the side that drew with the Royals two years ago.

DUBLIN (SH v Wexford) - A Nolan; S Hiney, P Kelly, P Schutte; S Durkin, L Rushe, M Carton; J Boland, J McCaffrey; A McCrabbe, R O'Dwyer, C Cronin; D O'Callaghan, C Keaney, M Schutte.

MONAGHAN (SF v Tyrone) – R Beggan; C Walshe, D Wylie, F Kelly; D Mone, V Corey, K Duffy; D Clerkin, D Hughes; P Finlay, P Donaghy, P McKenna; D Malone, K Hughes, J McCarron.

TYRONE (SF v Monagh) – N Morgan; A McCrory, Justin McMahon, R McNamee; R McNabb, Mattie Donnelly, P Harte; C Cavanagh, C Grugan; M Penrose, S Cavanagh, C McGinley; D McCurry, S O’Neill, R O’Neill.

CORK (SH v Clare) – A Nash; S O’Neill, D Cahalane, S McDonnell;C Joyce, ,M Ellis, L McLoughlin; D Kearney, A Walsh; C Lehane, B Cooper, S Harnedy; A Cadogan, P Cronin, P Horgan.

CARLOW (SF v Meath): P Coady; R Mahon, S Mernagh, BJ Molloy; G Power, D St Ledger, B Kavanagh; H Gahan, D Foley; M Meaney, C Moran, D Bambrick; P Broderick, S Kinsella, C Coughlan.

WATERFORD (SF v Clare) – S Enright; D Crowley, T O’Gorman, M O’Gorman; C Phelan, S Briggs, O Keevers; S Aherne, T Prendergast; M O’Gorman,  L O’Lionain, T O hUallachain; B Wall, P Whyte, JJ Hutchinson.

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport