Wednesday 25 April 2018

Walsh the star as super Sligo reel in Déise

Sligo 2-12 Waterford 2-8: Tesco Ladies NFL Div 3 final

Sligo players, left to right, Jacqui Mulligan, Ruth Goodwin and Colley Casey celebrate with the cup
Sligo players, left to right, Jacqui Mulligan, Ruth Goodwin and Colley Casey celebrate with the cup
Sligo's Laura Anne Laffey in action against Emma Murray of Waterford
Sligo's Elise Codd in action against Sinead Ryan of Waterford

Jackie Cahill

Paddy Henry's Sligo side will be playing Division 2 football next season after their stunning revival broke Waterford hearts at Parnell Park on Saturday.

The shell-shocked Déise had led by 2-3 to 0-1 in the first half - Sinéad Ryan scoring both goals - before they were reeled in by the Westerners.

Sligo's first League title win since lifting the Division 3 crown in 1995 had much to do with the sharpshooting of full- forward Katie Walsh, who scored 2-4.

And their victory represented an incredible turnaround in fortunes given that they lost by 22 points to Waterford in the group stages of the campaign.

Sligo had kicked eight wides in the first half but it was Waterford's turn to be profligate after the break, as they racked up six.

And Waterford's day ended on a sour note when wing-back Emma Murray, one of two players sin-binned, was red-carded for a second bookable offence.

Waterford built up that big early lead before they were out-gunned and outclassed for the remainder of the game.

Walsh's well-taken penalty in the first half kick-started the Sligo revival, after Murray was yellow-carded for a foot-block.

And her second goal handed Sligo a lead they never looked like losing.

Scorers - Sligo: K Walsh 2-4 (1-0 pen, 0-1f), S Reynolds & S O'Reilly 0-2 each, B Byrne, E O'Reilly, K Moloney & D McGrath 0-1 each. Waterford: S Ryan 2-3 (0-2f), A Wall 0-2, G Kenneally, M Delahunty (f) & M Ryan 0-1 each.

Sligo: N Gormley; O McGowan, G O'Loughlin, C Casey; R Goodwin, E Codd, J Mulligan; S McTiernan, B Byrne; E O'Reilly, S O'Reilly, S Reynolds; L.A. Laffey, K Walsh, K Moloney. Subs: L Brett for Moloney (22), D McGrath for Laffey (40), G Carty for Brett (57).

Waterford: K Hannon; L Wall, K McGrath, E Murray; M McGrath, E Power, M Dunford; N Fennell, M Wall; G Kenneally, M Delahunty, A Wall; M Ryan, S Ryan, A Murray. Subs: C McGrath for Fennell (HT), S Dunphy for Wall (42), H Landers for A Murray (53).

Ref - J Murphy (Carlow)

Indo Sport

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport