Saturday 21 April 2018

Wall has final say as Dunboyne show their class to secure title

Dunboyne 1-10 Bantry Blues 1-3

Twin sisters Roisin O’Doherty (L) and Meadbh O’Doherty of Dunboyne
Twin sisters Roisin O’Doherty (L) and Meadbh O’Doherty of Dunboyne Newsdesk Newsdesk

Dunboyne made light of the weather conditions to produce a superb display that saw them overcome a young Bantry Blues side to become the 2015 Ladies Junior All-Ireland Club champions.

In the first half, the Meath club dominated the middle of the field, starving the Bantry forwards of possession and restricting them to a single point in the opening period. Dunboyne's Vikki Wall scored the only goal which was to prove decisive.

Julie Kavanagh was a dominant figure for the Meath side. Aoife O'Driscoll was to score the only point of the half for Bantry, who were left to rue some missed chances.

Shelly Melia sent in a perfect angled pass into the path of Wall, who palmed the ball past Seadna O'Sullivan in the Bantry goal just two minutes before half-time, leaving Dunboyne in the strong position of leading 1-3 to 0-1 at the break.

Bantry needed a fast start to the second half, but it was Dunboyne that grabbed the first score, but Bantry began to gain a foothold in the game.

Wall added points for Dunboyne, who were seemingly coasting to victory as they lead 1-7 to 0-2.

However, Aoife O'Driscoll received the ball in space and she grabbed the chance by drilling the ball into the Dunboyne net to give her side hope.

Bantry were to rue some wayward shooting as they started to dominate possession and Wall had the last say with a well-taken point to seal the All-Ireland club title for the Meath side.

scorers - Dunboyne: V Wall 1-6, A Moffatt, S Melia, A Thompson (1 f), F O'Neill 0-1 each. Bantry Blues: A O'Driscoll 1-1 (1f), L Coppinger, R Murphy 0-1 each.

Dunboyne - M Clince; C Baker, L Byrne, E O'Byrne; D Blaney, E Doyle, A Moffatt; JKavanagh (capt), A Coyne; S Melia, A Jones, S Hackett; A Thompson, VWall, F O'Neill.

BANTRY BLUES - S O'Sullivan; E McGovern, A Crowley, D O'Shea; M Dullea, A Coakley, S Deane; E Spillane, J Coakley; N Crowley, M O'Sullivan, K O'Brien; S Coakley, A O'Driscoll, L Coppinger.

Indo Sport

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport