Friday 18 October 2019

Staunton and Dublin duo in line for award

Mayo's Cora Staunton
Mayo's Cora Staunton

All-Ireland-winning captain Sinéad Aherne, her Dublin team-mate Noelle Healy and Mayo's Cora Staunton are in the running for the 2017 TG4 Players' Player of the Year award.

Aherne, who was also nominated last year, Healy and Staunton are the three-player shortlist for the senior award as nominees were also announced for the intermediate and junior grades yesterday.

Staunton, who soon travels to Australia to begin her stint with Great Western Sydney Giants in the Women's AFL, will line out for Carnacon in next Sunday's Connacht senior club final replay against Galway side Kilkerrin-Clonberne.

After winning the player of the match award in the All-Ireland intermediate final, Tipperary's Aisling McCarthy has been nominated for the intermediate award.

She is joined on the shortlist by Tipperary team-mate and Cahir clubmate Aishling Moloney and Tyrone captain Neamh Woods.

In the junior grade, Carlow's Edel Hayden, Emma Doherty from Derry and London's Lisa Cafferkey have been nominated.

The nominees in all three categories have all been selected by their fellow players, who could not vote for their own team-mates.

The winners will be revealed at the All-Star award banquet which will be held at the CityWest Hotel on Saturday, November 25.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Meanwhile, London's senior football champions will now play in next year's Connacht senior club championship after the Connacht Council agreed to the proposal. It was also agreed to allow the London hurling champions to play in the province's intermediate hurling championship.

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: 'Jim Gavin has achieved what Mick O'Dwyer and Brian Cody couldn't do'

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport