Tuesday 18 June 2019

Walsh Cup round-up: Wins for Offaly, Carlow, Meath and Laois

Ciarán Cleary of Offaly in action against Niall Mitchell, left, Gary Greville, behind, and Derek McNicholas of Westmeath
Ciarán Cleary of Offaly in action against Niall Mitchell, left, Gary Greville, behind, and Derek McNicholas of Westmeath

Offaly, Carlow, Meath and Laois are off to winning ways in the Walsh Cup.

Offaly 2-15 Westmeath 1-16

Two goals from debutant Colm Gath gave new Offaly manager Kevin Martin a winning start to his tenure when his troops had two points to spare over Westmeath.

In a tough and physical encounter, Offaly deserved their win. They hit 1-4 without reply in the last five minutes of the opening half to lead 1-12 to 0-8 at the break and while they only tagged on 1-4 in the second half, they had enough of an advantage built up.

Alan Devine led the Westmeath charge in the second half as they came close to salvaging something from the game late on. The sides meet again next weekend with Westmeath needing to win by three points or more to progress.

Scorers – Offaly: C Gath 2-2, D Egan 0-5 (3fs), C Cleary 0-3; C Egan, L Langton 0-2 each; O Kelly 0-1. Westmeath: A Devine 1-6 (5fs, 1 ‘65’), K Doyle, N Mitchell, J Galvin and C Doyle (0-1f) 0-2 each; D McNicholas and D Egerton 0-1 each.

Offaly: C Clancy; P Rigney, S Gardiner, B Conneely; D Shortt, D Doughan, P Camon; C Molloy, D Egan; C Gath, C Egan, C Cleary; E Cahill, L Langton, O Kelly. Subs: S Dooley for E Cahill (h-t), C Mahon for Cleary (44), J Quinn for P Camon (47), T Geraghty for J Quinn (inj 55), D O’Toole for P Rigney 58).

Westmeath: P Carroll; S Power, L Varley, G Greville; A Craig, P Greville, D McNicholas; R Greville, N Mitchell; J Gilligan, K Doyle, D Egerton; A Devine, C Doyle, J Galvin. Subs: S Clavin for K Doyle (51), N Conaty for J Galvin (58), P Maxwell for A Devine (64).

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Referee: K Brady (Louth)


Carlow 4-18 Wicklow 2-11

THREE Carlow goals in the opening 12 minutes set up Colm Bonnar’s side for a convincing 13-point victory over Wicklow in this opening round Walsh Cup tie before a sparse attendance at Netwatch Cullen Park.

Carlow’s Ted Joyce had 2-1 on the board from play before midfielder Peter Abbey struck his side’s third goal as the home county went on to lead 3-10 to 1-5 at half-time, the Wicklow goal coming from Andy O’Brien on 18 minutes.

Although Carlow were always the superior force, Wicklow competed gamely in the second half and limited Bonnar’s men to 1-8 while recording 1-6 themselves, with Seanie Germaine notching the Garden County’s second goal before Ross Smithers raised Carlow’s fourth green flag in injury time.

Scorers – Carlow: T Joyce 2-2; P Abbey 1-2; C Foley, D English (0-2 65s, 0-1f), K McDonald (3fs) 0-3 each; R Smithers 1-0, J Kavanagh, M Kavanagh (f), C Nolan, D Byrne, E Nolan 0-1 each. Wicklow: J Connors 0-5 (2f), S Germaine, A O’Brien (1f), 1-1 each, E McCormack 0-2, C Moorehouse Jnr, G O’Brien 0-1 each.

Carlow: B Tracey; A Casey, J O’Hara, E Redmond; G Coady, D English, R Kelly; P Abbey, J Murphy; S Murphy, K McDonald, C Foley; J Doyle, R Smithers, T Joyce. Subs: M Kavanagh for Doyle (37); C Nolan for Joyce (37); J Kavanagh for Abbey (37); E Nolan for Kelly (43); D Byrne for S Murphy (43); C Wall for Foley (52); D Murphy for McDonald (52); S Brennan for Coady (55); P Doyle for English (57).

Wicklow: R Fitzgerald; J Connors, W Kavanagh, M O’Brien; G Byrne, J Henderson, O Furlong; J Byrne, C Moorehouse Jnr; E McCormack, G Connors, P Keane; S Germaine, A O’Brien, G O’Brien. Subs: J Doyle for Connors (25); E Byrne for Furlong (h-t); B Cuddihy for Henderson (injured) (48); E Donohoe for Keane (53); P O’Brien for Moorehouse (57); D Moloney for J Byrne (57); G Connors for G O’Brien (65).

Referee: P Burke (Kilkenny).


Meath 1-17 Antrim 0-19

Neil Heffernan’s fourth point in the final minute of added time gave the home side victory in the Walsh Cup at Trim. The sides were level nine times throughout and at half-time it was 1-9 to 0-12. The only goal of the game arrived on 26 minutes from Meath captain James Kelly.

Scorers - Meath: J Regan 0-7f, J Kelly 1-3, N Heffernan 0-4, J Toher 0-2, C McCabe 0-1. Antrim: N McManus 0-10 (0-8f), E O’Neill 0-3, C McCann, C Johnson 0-2 each, C McKinley, D McCloskey 0-1 each.

Meath: S McGann; K Keoghan, S Geraghty, N Weir; E Marsh, D Healy, J Regan; J Toher, C O Mealoid; A Forde; J Kelly, C McCabe; S Quigley, A Gannon, N Heffernan. Subs: J Keena for O Mealoid (50), J Walsh for Marsh (54).

Antrim: A Elliott; C Boyd, A Laffin, S Rooney; G Walsh, P Burke, D Kearney; C McGinley, N McAuley; C McCann, C Johnson, N Elliott; E O’Neill, N McManus, D McCloskey.

Referee: A Devine (Westmeath)


Laois 1-16 Kildare 0-9

Laois were comfortable ten-point winners in a sluggish opening Walsh Cup fixture against a forty-five-minute fourteen-man Kildare side playing only their second year at this level.

Leading by six at half-time with Kelly, Purcell and Dwyer giving an exhibition to a Kildare side leaning on Divilly after Cahill was sent off, Laois failed to effectively dispatch their challengers, though a 50th minute Enda Rowland penalty was just rewards for Purcell in full-forward.

Scorers - Laois: C Taylor 0-3 (1f, 1 65), E Rowland 1-0 pen, P Purcell, C Comerford, C Dwyer, P Delaney 0-2 each, A Corby, R King (f), L Delaney, E Lyons, B Conroy 0-1 each; Kildare: P Divilly 0-4 (2f), M Delaney 0-2 (2f), K Whelan, J Burke, B Cormack 0-1 each

Laois: E Rowland; L Cleere, P Lawlor, J Phelan; J Kelly, J Ryan, C Stapleton; P Purcell, C Taylor; S Downey, C Dwyer, A Corby, P McKane, R King, C Comerford. Subs: L Delaney, E Lyons, P Delaney, D Hartnett, S Dunphy, B Conroy, C Collier, B O’Mara, E Cillin, C Phelan.

Kildare: P Dermody; P O’Sullivan, J Doran, D Brereton; D Cahill, M Moloney, K Whelan; C Bonus, B Byrne; Eanna O’Neill, P Divilly, J Burke; J Sheridan, R Ryan, C Dowling. Subs: M Delaney, P McKenna, B Cormack, S Lacey, C Dervan.

Referee: G Quilty (Kilkenny).

Online Editors

The Throw-In: Dublin hurlers come of age, who will stand up for Offaly and Anthony Cunningham's unique record

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport