Wednesday 21 August 2019

TJ Reid and Maurice Shanahan included in Ireland Shinty squad to face Scotland

TJ Reid
TJ Reid Newsdesk Newsdesk

All-Ireland winners TJ Reid of Kilkenny and Clare’s David McInerney are among the high profile players in the Ireland squad to face Scotland in the Hurling/Shinty International Test later this month.

Waterford sharpshooter Maurice Shanahan is also among the 18-man squad which looks to make amends following the 3-15 to 2-8 in a test in Inverness last month.

Reid, the newly crowned 2015 Hurler of the Year, is the only Kilkenny representative in the panel.

The side will be captained by Matthew Whelan of Laois and will take place on November 21st with a 4.35pm throw-in at Croke Park.

Ireland’s 18-man squad: Eoin Reilly (Laois), Mickey Burke (Meath), Bernard Deay (Kildare), Paul Divilly (Kildare), Damien Healy (Meath), Zane Keenan (Laois), Shane Maloney (Galway), Neal McAuley (Antrim), David McInerney (Clare), Derek McNicholas (Westmeath), Bryan Murphy (Kerry), Pat Kelly (Kerry), Shane Nolan (Kerry), TJ Reid (Kilkenny), Eoin Price (Westmeath), Maurice Shanahan (Waterford), James Togher (Meath), Matthew Whelan (Captain) (Laois).

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Online Editors

The Throw-In: Tipp throw off the shackles while Kilkenny’s soul-searching begins

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport