Monday 23 October 2017

Tipp debuts for McCormack and Quinn as Noel McGrath makes return

Tipperary’s Noel McGrath
Tipperary’s Noel McGrath
Colm Keys

Colm Keys

Tipperary hurlers will give debuts to two players in their opening Allianz Division 1A league match against visiting Dublin tomorrow night.

Daire Quinn from Nenagh Éire Óg and Borris-Ileigh's Dan McCormack have been given the green light by new manager Michael Ryan.

Quinn starts at midfield where he will partner Michael Breen as Tipperary go searching for replacements for Shane McGrath and James Woodlock who both retired since 2015.

Noel McGrath is given a starting place in a competitive game for the first time since he recovered from testicular cancer last year.

His brother John is also included in an attack that will be without the injured Seamie Callanan, while John O'Dwyer is listed among the substitutes.

Liam Watson has been named in an Antrim team for a competitive fixture for the first time in over three years.

Watson, a member of Loughgiel's All-Ireland-winning club team in 2012, was overlooked for three years by the previous management despite being one of the county's most talented players. But new manager PJ O'Mullan, who is being assisted by Justin McCarthy, has installed Watson at full-forward for their Division 2 game against Derry.

Kerry will field nine of their team that defeated Derry in last year's Christy Ring Cup final for their opening Division 1B game against Laois.


Jack Goulding, a member of last year's All-Ireland-winning minor football squad, has been named at corner-forward.

Meanwhile, Cavan footballer David Givney is to return to his original club Munterconnacht after a spell with Ballymun Kickhams. With a steady flow of players in the other direction, Givney has opted to return 'home' after rejoining the Cavan squad late last year.

Elsewhere, the soccer club at the centre of the controversy over the Jamie Carragher academy which took place on the grounds of the Dromard GAA club in Longford last August, yielding a €2,000 fine for Dromard, have expressed their disappointment at the penalty.

"This is especially disappointing as the majority of UCL players also play GAA with their local clubs, with some playing underage at county level for Longford, Leitrim and Cavan," UCL AFC said in a statement to the Longford Leader.

Tipperary (SH v Dublin) - D Gleeson; C Barrett, T Hamill, M Cahill; B Maher, J Barry, P Maher; M Breen, D Quinn; D McCormack, Patrick 'Bonner' Maher, J Forde; N McGrath, C Kenny, J McGrath.

Antrim (SH v Derry) - C O'Connell; O McFadden, N McAuley, C McKinley; S McCrory, C Johnson, B McFaul; K McKernan, D McKernan; E McCloskey, D Nugent, L Watson; C Johnston, N McKenna, C Clarke.

Kerry (SH v Laois) - M Stackpoole; S Weir, B Murphy, K Carmody; D Collins, D Dineen, T Murnane; P Kelly, T Casey; S Nolan, M O'Leary, C Harty; J Egan, M Boyle, J Goulding.

Indo Sport

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport