Tuesday 20 March 2018

Tipp break free to see off Déise

Munster MHC quarter-finals: Tipperary1-14 Waterford 0-16

Photo: Ray McManus / SPORTSFILE
Photo: Ray McManus / SPORTSFILE
Independent.ie Newsdesk

Independent.ie Newsdesk

As a former All-Star forward in his playing days, Liam Cahill will know that his Tipperary minor hurlers have plenty to work on after last night.

The Premier County managed just 1-3 from play against Waterford at Semple Stadium but still stuttered over the line, which could be argued is the sign of a good team.

Despite not playing well, Tipp set up a semi-final clash with Clare on July 1, as Waterford were condemned to a play-off with Limerick, a fixture that will be a repeat of last year's provincial decider.

Daragh Carey's eight pointed frees were priceless, as were the three placed balls scored by Brian McGrath, younger brother of Tipp seniors John and Noel. McGrath lobbed over two massive '65s in the closing minutes, the first handing Tipp a lead they would not relinquish before the second kept Waterford at bay.

At half-time, Tipp could scarcely believe their luck, as they were 1-7 to 0-9 clear thanks to Ruadhan Mulrooney's injury-time goal.

Aaron O'Sullivan had scored four first-half points for Waterford and almost 26 minutes had elapsed before Tipp finally managed a score from play, as sub Lyndon Fairbrother bagged a nice point with his first touch.

Scorers - Tipperary: D Carey 0-8f, R Mulrooney 1-0, B McGrath 0-3 (2 65s, 1f), L Fairbrother 0-2, L McCutcheon 0-1. Waterford: J Prendergast 0-6f, A O'Sullivan 0-4, C Lyons 0-2, D Lyons (f), E Meaney, G Waters & E Murray 0-1 each.

Tipperary - P Hayes; E Moloney, J Quigley, E Heffernan; J Skehan, B McGrath, D Peters; L McCutcheon, S Neville; D Carey, S Quirke, R Mulrooney; D Gleeson, A Tynan, R Peters. Subs: L Fairbrother for R Peters (23), K Hassett for Neville (40), D Roberts for Mulrooney (55), G Dunne for McCutcheon (60+2).

Waterford - B Nolan; D Lynch, C Prunty, D McGrath; J Henley, D Lyons, C Dunphy; C Lyons, A Molumby; G Waters, JP Lucey, E Meaney; A O'Sullivan, J Prendergast, P Hogan. Subs: E Murray for Waters (45), M Roche for Lucey (55).

ref - J Murphy (Limerick)

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport