Saturday 18 November 2017

Students take spoils in Carlow derby

IT Carlow 2-15 Carlow 0-14

IT Carlow goals in both halves from Jack Fagan and Martin Kavanagh proved crucial. Photo: Getty
IT Carlow goals in both halves from Jack Fagan and Martin Kavanagh proved crucial. Photo: Getty Newsdesk Newsdesk

IT Carlow goals in both halves from full forward Jack Fagan and right full forward Martin Kavanagh proved crucial as the students deservedly prevailed over Carlow in this Walsh Cup tie at Netwatch Cullen Park yesterday.

Carlow led 0-4 to 0-2 after 15 minutes, but with Laois senior players Stephen Maher and Charles Dwyer impressive in the IT half-forward line, they took control and Fagan's goal on 21 minutes put them into a 1-4 to 0-4 lead. By half-time the IT lead had extended to 1-10 to 0-7.

Although Ger Coady had a Carlow point eight minutes into the second half, there was an immediate response from the students as Martin Kavanagh, ironically an established Carlow county player lining out for his college, shot his side's second goal. In the 64th minute, Carlow created their best goaling chance when substitute Ross Smithers brought a fine save out of the IT goalie Enda Rowland but overall, the college side played the crisper hurling and deserved the laurels.

This outcome means both sides have won one game and lost one - Carlow defeated Meath away while IT Carlow lost to Wexford.

Scorers: IT Carlow: S Maher 0-7 (4f), M Kavanagh 1-2, (0-1f), J Fagan 1-0, J Doyle 0-3, C Dwyer 0-2, M Harney 0-1. Carlow: K McDonald 0-4 (4f), Seamus Murphy 0-3, C Wall, G Coady 0-2 each, Sean Murphy, D English ('65), C Lawlor 0-1 each.

IT Carlow: E Rowland; T Gallagher, M Ryan, R Brown; B Byrne, K Hanafin, D O'Hanlon; C Dunford, D Healy; M Harney, S Maher, C Dwyer; M Kavanagh, J Fagan, J Doyle. Subs: S Stafford for Harney (58); M Redmond for Maher (63); J Kilmartin for Byrne (67); C Madden for Dwyer (67); L Langton for O'Hanlon (67).

Carlow: J Barron; D Wall, R Kelly, A Corcoran; C Lawlor, D English, D Byrne; C Wall, K McDonald; Sean Murphy, A Gleeson, Seamus Murphy; G Coady, D O'Neill, L Galway. Subs: D Murphy for Sean Murphy (inj 25); R Smithers for Gleeson (42); R Coady for O'Neill (42); J O'Hara for G Coady (inj 45); R Nolan for D Wall (45).

Ref- J Heffernan (Wexford).

Indo Sport

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport