Saturday 26 May 2018

Shine and Kilbride out as Rossies ring changes

GAA president Aogán Ó Fearghail. Photo: Ray McManus/Sportsfile
GAA president Aogán Ó Fearghail. Photo: Ray McManus/Sportsfile

Donnchadh Boyle and Declan Rooney

Roscommon have made four changes and a number of positional switches from the side that beat Sligo for Sunday's Connacht SFC final clash with Galway in Pearse Stadium.

Geoffrey Claffey is replaced in goal by Darren O'Malley, while James McDermott makes way for Cathal Compton at midfield.

Up front, experienced pair Donie Shine and Senan Kilbride make way for Enda Smith and David Keenan.

Cavan have also made four changes from the side that went down heavily to Tyrone last weekend for tomorrow's home clash with Carlow.

Padraig Faulkner, Ciarán Brady, Liam Buchanan and Seanie Johnston coming into Terry Hyland's starting line-up.


John Connellan is rated as "50-50" to be fit for Westmeath's Leinster final clash with Dublin on Sunday by manager Tim Cribbin.

Meanwhile, GAA president Aogán ó Fearghail feels that the Leinster SHC title race has become a 'rest of Ireland championship' and teams such as Galway should be allowed home and away fixtures.

Read more: 'Brick' has warned us to make most  of now - Gleeson

ó Fearghail said that moving Galway and other counties into Leinster was an experiment but it should now move on and all counties must be treated equally.

"There was an experimentation period. For me, that period should be now passed. Galway are full participants of Leinster, it has been good for the Leinster Championship and it has been good for Galway.

"It would be much fairer, it would look better and it would be better for all counties involved if Galway had the same arrangements as all other counties in the championship.

"In truth, it's a rest of Ireland championship, in terms of who participates in it."

Roscommon (SF v Galway) - D O'Malley; S McDermott, S Mullooly, N McInerney; D Murray, S Purcell, J McManus; N Daly, C Compton; F Cregg, C Murtagh, D Keenan; C Devaney, E Smith, C Cregg.

Derry (SF v Meath) - T Mallon; G McKinless, C McKaigue, K McKaigue; C McFaul, B Rogers, C Mullan; C McAtamney, N Holly; D Heavron, C Bradley, E Brown; J Kielt, E McGuckin, M Lynch.

Cavan (SF v Carlow) - R Galligan; K Brady, R Dunne, P Faulkner; F Flanagan, C Moynagh, C Brady; T Corr, L Buchanan; D McVeety, G McKiernan, K Clarke; C Mackey, E Keating, S Johnston.

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport