Monday 16 September 2019

Shanagher strikes late as Munster take Railway

Munster 2-20 Leinster 2-16 Inter-Provincial SH Final

Leinster’s TJ Reid (left) and James Barry of Munster in an aerial duel Picture: Sportsfile
Leinster’s TJ Reid (left) and James Barry of Munster in an aerial duel Picture: Sportsfile

Jackie Cahill

Fresh legs proved crucial as Anthony Daly's Munster clinched GAA Interprovincial hurling glory at Semple Stadium last night, in front of 592 spectators.

Munster hit 1-5 without reply late on to seal the province's 46th Railway Cup at Semple Stadium.

Aron Shanagher, a fellow Clare native of Daly's, was sprung from the bench with ten minutes left and netted in the 59th minute to make sure of Munster's first title since 2013.

It was a come from behind victory for Daly's men in an entertaining, see-saw affair. Munster were five points behind on three occasions in the second half; after drawing level through David Reidy's 45th-minute goal, they were rocked by Lee Chin's major for Leinster from the next attack.


Leinster looked set for the win at that point - and would lead by four points with time running out - but Munster emptied the bench and produced a brilliant late flurry to get over the line.

Cork's Alan Cadogan knifed three points from play, Limerick's Barry Nash had two, Waterford's Stephen Bennett clipped over the lead score in the 55th minute and then Shanagher made his mark.

Leinster were champions when the competition was last played in 2014 but this was Munster's night and on the balance of play, it was a merited victory as Tipp's All-Ireland winning captain Brendan Maher finished the year by lifting more silverware.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

TJ Reid's inclusion in the starting line-up - at the expense of suspended Kilkenny team-mate Colin Fennelly - was a boost to Leinster before throw-in.

And it was Reid who bagged the big score of the first half, firing home a 25th-minute goal that went in under the body of Darren Gleeson.

Reid's goal was part of a run of 1-3 without reply for Leinster that sent them into a 1-10 to 0-9 lead.

Seamus Callanan had a pair of early points for Munster as they stormed into a 0-4 to 0-0 lead but Leinster, with Reid lively, were level at 0-6 apiece midway through the half.

There was a let-off in the 13th minute for Leinster, however, as Reidy rammed a shot off James Dempsey's crossbar, with Callanan on hand to pick up the pieces and raise a white flag.

After drawing level, Leinster went two behind again when Tipp's Dan McCormack popped over a brace of points but Leinster's purple patch came at the right time, approaching the break.

But it would be Munster's night as Daly emptied the bench and came up trumps.

Scorers - Munster: S Callanan 0-7 (4fs, 1 '65'), D Reidy 1-2, A Shanagher 1-0, A Cadogan 0-3, D McCormack & B Nash 0-2 each, D Byrnes, J Barron, M Breen & Stephen Bennett 0-1 each.

Leinster: TJ Reid 1-6 (0-4fs), L Chin 1-1, W Walsh 0-4, C Dwyer & G Keegan 0-2 each, S Dooley 0-1.

MUNSTER - D Gleeson (Tipperary); B Coughlan (Waterford), J Barry (Tipperary), N Connors (Waterford); D Byrnes (Limerick), C Dillon (Clare), P Maher (Tipperary); B Maher (Tipperary), J Barron (Waterford); D McCormack (Tipperary), M Breen (Tipperary), Shane Bennett (Waterford); J O'Dwyer (Tipperary), S Callanan (Tipperary), D Reidy (Clare). Subs: N McGrath (Tipperary) for Shane Bennett (ht), A Cadogan (Cork) for B Maher (ht), B Nash (Limerick) for McCormack (ht), S Dowling (Limerick) for O'Dwyer (50), A Shanagher (Clare) for Breen (50), Stephen Bennett (Waterford) for Barron (51), S Fives (Waterford) for Coughlan (55), T Murnane (Kerry) for Dillon (55), C Lynch (Limerick) for Callanan (60+1).

LEINSTER - J Dempsey (Offaly); M Whelan (Laois), T Doyle (Westmeath), L Ryan (Wexford); P Walsh (Kilkenny), K Joyce (Kilkenny), C Crummey (Dublin); C Fogarty (Kilkenny), S Ryan (Offaly); W Walsh (Kilkenny), L Chin (Wexford), C Dwyer (Laois); S Dooley (Offaly), TJ Reid (Kilkenny), G Keegan (Kildare). Subs: M Kavanagh (Carlow) for Dooley (27), E Murphy (Kilkenny) for Keegan (ht), Keegan for S Ryan (46).

Ref - A Kelly (Galway)

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: Selection dilemma for Dublin and All-Ireland ladies football final preview

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Also in Sport