Saturday 17 March 2018

Ryan considering his Limerick future

Limerick manager John Kiely. Photo: Stephen McCarthy/Sportsfile
Limerick manager John Kiely. Photo: Stephen McCarthy/Sportsfile

Jackie Cahill

Limerick senior hurling manager John Kiely has revealed that long-serving star and 2013 Munster SHC final man of the match James Ryan is taking time out to consider his inter-county future.

Ryan, who will be 30 next April, was not named on a 39-man provisional panel for the 2017 season yesterday, as Kiely also moved to infuse his squad with fresh blood.

All 15 starters from the 2015 Bord Gáis Energy All-Ireland U-21 final victory over Wexford are included in the extended list, as well as Andrew La Touche Cosgrave and Peter Casey, who were both introduced as subs in the Semple Stadium victory.

Paudie O'Brien is a high-profile omission while Kevin Downes, currently recovering from a cruciate knee ligament injury, is not included either. Kiely has vowed, however, that management will keep in touch with Downes to monitor his progress with a view to a return, while versatile Garryspillane clubman Ryan will make a decision on whether or not to commit to another season of inter-county fare in the New Year.

And Kiely confirmed: "James Ryan is taking a bit of time away.

"He was a dual footballer and hurler for a number of years, he's 29 now and needed some time and to rest, number one, and to make a decision on whether he wants to continue or not. That's his situation."

Elsewhere, the GAA have named their champions 15 selection from the Ring, Rackard and Meagher Cups. Meath lead the way with four of their team on the Ring side with Damien Healy, Adam Gannon, James Toher and Shane McGann all honoured. The players will be presented with their awards at the All-Star ceremony on Friday night.

Christy Ring Cup 15

Damien Healy (Meath), Adam Gannon (Meath), James Toher (Meath), Shane McGann (Meath), Simon McCrory (Antrim), Eoghan Campbell (Antrim), Ciaran Clarke (Antrim), John Doran (Kildare), Gerry Keegan (Kildare), John McManus (Down), Caolan Taggart (Down), Oisin McCloskey (Derry), Luke Maloney (Wicklow), Tomás Lawrence (London), Micheál Kelly (Roscommon).

Nicky Rackard Cup 15

Brian Hunt (Mayo), Kenny Feeney (Mayo), Cathal Freeman (Mayo), Joseph McManus (Mayo), Cahal Carvill (Armagh), Ciaran Clifford (Armagh), Declan Coulter (Armagh), Patrick Sheridan (Fingal) Killian O'Flynn (Fingal), Danny Cullen (Donegal), Pádraig Doherty (Donegal), Damian Casey (Tyrone), Ryan Bogue (Fermanagh), Patrick Farrington (Longford), Connor McKenna (Monaghan).

Lory Meagher Cup 15

Andrew Mackin (Louth), Diarmuid Murphy (Louth), Andrew McCrave (Louth), Shane Callan (Louth), Mark Wallace (Louth), Brian O'Loughlin (Sligo), Liam Reidy (Sligo), Cormac Behan (Sligo), Keith Raymond (Sligo), Colm Moreton (Leitrim), Zak Moradi (Leitrim), Shane Morrissey (Warwickshire), Padraic Crehan (Warwickshire), Seamus Richardson (Lancashire), David Cahillane (Lancashire).

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport