Wednesday 13 December 2017

Roscommon overcome Tyrone to book place in Nicky Rackard finale

Tyrone 0-14 Roscommon 1-16

Jerry Fallon led Roscommon to victory
Jerry Fallon led Roscommon to victory

Jerry Fallon’s eight points tally helped Roscommon book their place in the Nicky Rackard Cup final with a five points win over holders Tyrone at Omagh.

The Connacht men went five ahead with a string of Jerry Fallon frees, but Tyrone dominated the second quarter, and Damian Casey’s stoppage time free tied it up at 0-9 each at the break.

Adrian Murphy’s goal two minutes into the second half helped the Rossies restore their five points advantage, and they held the advantage right to the end.


Tyrone scorers: D Casey 0-8 (6f), C Grogan, G Gilmore 0-2 each, S Og Grogan, M Mulgrew 0-1 each

Roscommon scorers: A Murphy 1-1, J Fallon 0-8 (6f), R O’Meara 0-3, K Kilkenny, C Kenny, M Kelly, C Egan 0-1 each


Tyrone: J Devlin,  C McNally, R Devlin, M Grogan, P McHugh, D Begley, T Morgan, J Kelly, A Kelly, C Grogan, S Og Grogan, C Cross, M Mulgrew, D Casey, G Gilmore.

Subs: M O’Gorman for R Devlin, R Winters for S Grogan, D Marshall for Mulgrew


Roscommon: N Fallon, I Delaney, P Kellehan, L Kilcline, D Leonard, M Kelly, T Seale, C Dolan, R O’Meara, J Fallon, C Egan, G Fallon, A Murphy.

Subs: C Kenny for Egan, E Flanagan for G Fallon, J Coyle for Murphy, J Kilkenny for Moran,

Referee: L McAuley (Antrim).

Irish Independent Sport Star Awards

Pick our magic sports moment of the year and win a trip for two to London. To view the shortlist and cast your vote click here.

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport