Tuesday 12 November 2019

Richie Hogan fails to overturn All-Ireland final red card but could take case to CAC

Kilkenny's Richie Hogan
Kilkenny's Richie Hogan

Conor McKeon and Frank Roche

Kilkenny hurler Richie Hogan has failed to overturn his All-Ireland final red card against Tipperary.

Croke Park today revealed that the Central Hearings Committee has found the case against Hogan to be “proven” following his pivotal sending-off late in the first half. 

Please log in or register with Independent.ie for free access to this article.

Log In

The 2014 Hurler of the Year now stands suspended for Kilkenny’s opening fixture in the 2020 Allianz League, although he has the option of appealing the CHC ruling to the Central Appeals Committee. 

Hogan was dismissed by Wexford referee James Owens after 33 minutes of this year’s SHC decider, following a high challenge that caught Tipp defender Cathal Barrett in the head. 

He was duly reported for "behaving in any way which is dangerous to an opponent". 

Hogan vehemently protested his innocence at the time – and again in an interview with Newstalk later that week. 

"I was going in for a shoulder on Cathal Barrett, he stepped inside and my momentum took me through. In my opinion, there was absolutely no way it was a sending-off," he told Off The Ball. 

"It was clear as day to anyone at the match, what I was trying to do. The first thing I thought was to get back and get after the ball, then when I turned around and saw him on the ground I thought, 'It's a free'. 

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

"I was complaining about getting a yellow card, because it was one of those clearly accidental, honest challenges. I just assumed that he had taken the wrong card, to be honest with you." 

While refusing to apportion any blame towards Owens or Barrett, Hogan added: "It's just a difficult situation. They spoke about your arm not being down by your side. This is not Irish dancing. 

"We have hurleys in our hands, how do we hold a 36-inch hurley without bending your arm?" 

His protestations have now fallen on deaf committee ears after the CHC found the infraction proven after a hearing on Monday of this week.

Online Editors

The Throw-In: 'Jim Gavin has achieved what Mick O'Dwyer and Brian Cody couldn't do'

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport