Tuesday 28 January 2020

Revealed: Tipperary set for record All Star haul with Premier County leading the way in nominations

All-Ireland final man-of-the-match Seamus Callanan is on the three-man shortlist for Hurler of the Year. Picture: Sportsfile
All-Ireland final man-of-the-match Seamus Callanan is on the three-man shortlist for Hurler of the Year. Picture: Sportsfile

Jackie Cahill

Tipperary's All-Ireland winning hurlers could scoop a record haul of GAA/GPA Opel All-Star awards when the final team is revealed next month.

The Premier County have had all 15 starters from their September victory over Kilkenny nominated.

And two Premier County stars - All-Ireland final man-of-the-match Seamus Callanan and defensive bulwark Pádraic Maher - are on the three-man shortlist for Hurler of the Year, alongside Waterford's Austin Gleeson.

Tipperary's previous best haul on an All-Star selection is seven, achieved in 1991 and 2001.

Kilkenny have received nine All-Stars on three occasions - 1983, 2000 and 2008 - a figure that remains an all-time record and looks highly unlikely to be matched on this occasion.

Tipp had 14 players nominated in 2001, ending up with seven All-Stars, and they look set to at least equal that haul on November 4.

The three Mahers - Ronan, Pádraic and Patrick - look nailed on for All-Stars, along with Cathal Barrett, John McGrath and Callanan.

Tipp will then hope to make it seven if James Barry is included in the full-back line, but others may lose out elsewhere.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Runners-up Kilkenny have had eight players nominated, including previous Hurlers of the Year TJ Reid and Richie Hogan.

That figure is trumped by beaten semi-finalists Waterford, who have nine players included in the 45-man long-list.

Waterford are tipped to gain two All-Stars in the final selection, with Jamie Barron favoured to get the nod at midfield, while Gleeson is a certainty in the forward division.

Galway, who lost out to Tipperary by a single point at the semi-final stage, have six nominees, including Daithí Burke and David Burke, who are both tipped to be included in the final 15.

Three players from League champions Clare have made the list, Wexford have two nominations and there's one each for Cork and Limerick.

There are ten players nominated from last year's final team.


Colm Callanan (Galway); Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny), Darren Gleeson (Tipperary).


Cian Dillon (Clare); Dáithí Burke, Pádraig Mannion (Galway); Cillian Buckley, Paul Murphy, Pádraig Walsh ( Kilkenny); Diarmuid Byrnes (Limerick); Cathal Barrett, James Barry, Michael Cahill, Seamus Kennedy, Pádraic Maher, Ronan Maher (Tipperary); Noel Connors, Tadhg de Búrca, Shane Fives, Philip Mahony (Waterford); Matthew O'Hanlon (Wexford).


David Burke (Galway), Conor Fogarty (Kilkenny); Michael Breen, Brendan Maher (Tipperary); Jamie Barron, Kevin Moran (Waterford).


Colm Galvin, Tony Kelly (Clare), Alan Cadogan (Cork); Joe Canning, Conor Cooney (Galway); Richie Hogan, TJ Reid, Walter Walsh (Kilkenny); Seamus Callanan, Patrick Maher, Dan McCormack, John McGrath, Noel McGrath, John O'Dwyer (Tipperary); Austin Gleeson, Pauric Mahony, Michael Walsh (Waterford); Lee Chin (Wexford).

Player of the Year Nominees Seamus Callanan (Tipperary), Austin Gleeson (Waterford), Pádraic Maher (Tipperary).

Young Player of the Year Nominees

Shane Bennett (Waterford), Austin Gleeson (Waterford), Ronan Maher (Tipperary).

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: Dublin-Kerry cracker, scrap the advanced mark and Limerick's psychological boost

In association wth Allianz

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport