Sunday 21 January 2018

Revealed: No place for Tipperary captain but All-Ireland champions still lead the way in 2016 All Star selection Newsdesk Newsdesk

All-Ireland hurling champions Tipperary were given seven spots on the All Star team after having all 15 members of their side nominated for the award.

The team was announced at tonight's GAA/GPA All Star banquet at the Convention Centre in Dublin.

The biggest omission from the champions was captain Brendan Maher, who along with Noel McGrath missed out in a crowded field at midfield and half forward respectively.

Read more: Austin Gleeson upsets Seamus Callanan to scoop Hurler of the Year award

Kilkenny goalkeeper Eoin Murphy was rewarded for a fine season with the goalkeeper spot, while Walter Walsh picked up his first All Star at wing forward.

Padraic Maher and Richie Hogan each won their fourth award, while Padraig Walsh followed his brother Tommy by getting selected at right half back.

Read more: Lee Keegan beats out Dublin stars to take home 2016 Footballer of the Year

Seamus Callanan and David Burke picked up their third All Stars while it was a second selection for Patrick 'Bonner' Maher and Daithi Burke.

Waterford's Austin Gleeson completed a rare double of Hurler of the Year and Young Hurler of the Year, capping 2016 by taking home hurling two most prestigious individual prizes.

Here is the full 2016 hurling GAA/GPA All Star team:

1. Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny)

2. Cathal Barrett (Tipperary)

3. James Barry (Tipperary)

4. Daithi Burke (Galway)

5. Padraig Walsh (Kilkenny)

6. Ronan Maher (Tipperary)

7. Padraic Maher (Tipperary)

8. Jamie Barron (Waterford)

9. David Burke (Galway)

10. Walter Walsh (Kilkenny)

11. Austin Gleeson (Waterford)

12. Patrick Maher (Tipperary)

13. Richie Hogan (Kilkenny)

14. Seamus Callanan (Tipperary)

15. John McGrath (Tipperary)

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport