| 14.4°C Dublin

Reidy hits eight as Mary I inflict crushing defeat on Maynooth


Stock Photo: Ray McManus / SPORTSFILE

Stock Photo: Ray McManus / SPORTSFILE

Stock Photo: Ray McManus / SPORTSFILE

Mary I made it two wins from two in the Fitzgibbon Cup with a 21-point victory over Maynooth on Saturday in a re-fixed game.

Following on from their impressive victory over WIT in the week, Eamonn Cregan's side continued their form as goals from Darragh Corry and Declan Hannon, a late brace from Stephen Cahill and eight points from David Reidy put the game beyond a Maynooth side that restored a measure of pride with an energetic performance after their collapse against IT Carlow.

It took eight minutes of the first half and a succession of wides before Mary I found their range, but once Sean Linnane raised their first white flag they were soon into their stride.

Corry and Hannon found the net in the opening 20 minutes and, allied to five frees from Limerick ace Reidy, they had a 2-9 to 0-3 lead by the interval.

Shane Farrelly's goal for Maynooth cut the deficit to 11 points with 15 minutes remaining, leaving it 1-6 to 2-14 at that juncture.

But that was as close as the Kildare college was to come as Tipperary's Stephen Cahill hit two goals in the final five minutes to set up a winner-takes-all clash with IT Carlow for Mary I in the final round.

Scorers: Maynooth University: A Gleeson 0-5 (2f), S Farrelly 1-0, J White 0-1. Mary I College: D Reidy 0-8 (7f), S Cahill 2-1, D Corry, D Hannon 1-0 each, J Meagher, D O'Donovan (1 sl, 1f) 0-2 each, S Linnane, T Gallagher, J Hannon, R English, B Dolan 0-1 each

Maynooth University: S Nolan, R Fennell, M Campion, D Walsh, T Stafford, S O'Connor, D Burke, K Sheridan, S Farrelly, A Gleeson, E O'Hara, O Mulhall, J Murphy, C Chan. Subs: J White for Walsh (20), M Twomey for Mulhall (43), S Ryan for Murphy (54).

Mary I College: M Brown, L Corry, C Barry, A Ryan, T Stapleton, J Meagher, R English, S Cahill, D O'Donovan, D Reidy, D Hannon, S Linnane, T Gallagher, D Corry, N O'Meara. Subs: B Dolan for O'Meara (44), C Fennessy for Reidy (47), J Hannon for Ryan (47), C Sheehan for Corry (53), M O'Conghaile for English (56).

Referee: J Owens (Wexford).

GAA Newsletter

Exclusives from under the skin of the GAA, from Ireland’s largest and best GAA team; Brolly, Mullane, Hogan and Ó Sé, to name but a few.

This field is required

Most Watched