Monday 10 December 2018

Reid misses out for Cats as Gilroy rings changes for Antrim clash

Kilkenny's TJ Reid. Photo: Sportsfile
Kilkenny's TJ Reid. Photo: Sportsfile
Michael Verney

Michael Verney

TJ Reid is likely to face a spell on the sidelines after being left out of the Kilkenny squad to face Clare in tomorrow's Allianz HL Division 1A clash at Nowlan Park, but captain Cillian Buckley has made a quick recovery from injury to make a surprise start.

Reid overcame a calf injury to make an impact off the bench in last weekend's defeat to Cork but is a notable absentee while Conor Fogarty also misses out as Brian Cody introduces Robert Lennon, Ollie Walsh, John Donnelly, Richie Leahy and Bill Sheehan.

Buckley maintains his place at wing-back despite being stretchered off with a neck injury during the closing stages against the Rebels, who have restored all-time leading scorer Patrick Horgan to their starting team for tomorrow's clash with Wexford.

Waterford boss Derek McGrath makes 11 changes for their meeting with Tipperary as just Barry Coughlan, Austin Gleeson, Kevin Moran and Stephen Bennett retain their places.

Elsewhere, Dublin manager Pat Gilroy has reacted to their 13-point loss to Offaly by recalling a host of big hitters for their Division 1B trip to Antrim with Conal Keaney and Danny Sutcliffe making their first competitive inter-county starts since 2015.

parachutes The pair are joined by Eamonn Dillon and Paul Ryan in a potent-looking attack while Eoghan O'Donnell and James Madden return in defence.

All-Ireland champions Galway have included All-Stars Pádraig Mannion and Conor Whelan in their line-up to face Laois as Micheál Donoghue also parachutes newcomers Seán Linnane, nephew of Sylvie, and Shane Bannon into the fold.

Meanwhile, Tyrone football boss Mickey Harte names just eight of the side that suffered a humiliating All-Ireland SFC semi-final defeat against Dublin last year when they meet the same opposition tonight (7.0).

After watching Lee Brennan's 0-6 contribution with UUJ in this week's Sigerson Cup win over St Mary's, the attacker is rewarded with a starting place while Declan McLure, Richard Donnelly, Ciarán McLaughlin and Cathal McCarron also start after the surprise loss to Galway.

Conor McManus remains absent for Monaghan's trip to Kildare, while Brian Ó Beaglaoich starts for Kerry against Mayo - who are unchanged - despite An Ghaeltacht's club run finishing just seven days ago.

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, a trip to Old Trafford to watch Man United take on Liverpool in the Premier League, tickets to Ireland's home games in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport