| 3.8°C Dublin

Red-hot skipper Griffin leads by example in Limerick stroll


Brian Murray: Between the sticks for Limerick intermediate team

Brian Murray: Between the sticks for Limerick intermediate team


Brian Murray: Between the sticks for Limerick intermediate team

Limerick enjoyed a comfortable victory at the Gaelic Grounds yesterday to book their place in a first provincial final at this level since 2011.

A lethal inside line contributed 1-11 for the Shannonsiders, who will meet Cork in the July 8 provincial decider.

Tipp contested the last three Munster finals in this grade but were outclassed by their opponents as captain Willie Griffin led by example once again for Limerick.

Griffin bagged 2-6 in the quarter-final victory over Waterford and hit 0-5 yesterday.

Full-forward Tom Morrissey collected 1-3 and in the other corner, Mike Fitzgibbon helped himself to 0-3.

Limerick had nine different scorers on a day when Tipp were over-reliant on Adrian Ryan and Liam McGrath for attacking inspiration.

McGrath, Tipperary’s 2011 All-Ireland minor winning football captain, finished with a haul of 1-5, including a late consolation goal.

Ryan scored four points, split evenly between both halves, but Tipp didn’t help themselves with a haul of 13 wides.

Limerick, despite playing against the breeze from the start, roared into a 0-6 to 0-0 lead within ten minutes.

McGrath finally opened Tipp’s account with a tenth-minute free but Limerick led by 1-10 to 0-7 at half-time, as Morrissey pounced for a 30th-minute goal after Griffin’s initial effort was saved.

Tipp were 11 points down on three occasions in the second half but did manage goals from Kieran Morris and McGrath to make the final scoreline more respectable.

Limerick had class running through every line of their starting 15, starting with the presence of 2007 All Star Brian Murray between the sticks.

At centre-back, U-21 star Diarmuid Byrnes stood out and the Patrickswell man banged over four trademark scores from long-range placed balls.

Limerick boss Don Flynn reflected: “Tipp beat us by a point last year and we wanted to turn them over today. We were well up for it.”

Scorers – Limerick: T Morrissey 1-3, W Griffin 0-5 (2f), D Byrnes 0-4 (3fs, 1 ‘65’) M Carmody, M Fitzgibbon 0-3 each, A Brennan 0-2, R O’Donnell, T Quaid, M Fitzgerald 0-1 each. Tipperary:  L McGrath 1-5 (0-4fs), K Morris 1-1 (0-1f), A Ryan 0-4, D Butler, D Flynn, J Cahill 0-1 each.

Limerick – B Murray; S Finn, B O’Connell, M Reidy; D Moloney, D Byrnes, B Lynch; R O’Donnell, A Brennan; D O’Donovan, K O’Brien, M Carmody; W Griffin, T Morrissey, M Fitzgibbon. Subs: M Fitzgerald for O’Donovan (45), J Mulcahy for O’Brien (50), T Quaid for Griffin (55), R English for Reidy (57).

Tipperary – D Mooney; S O’Brien, M Butler, T Treacy; B Stapleton, J Coghlan, W Ryan; L Ryan, D Quinn; P O’Dwyer, K Morris, D Butler; D Flynn, A Ryan, L McGrath. Subs: J Cahill for Quinn (19), A Maloney for Flynn (42), K Fox for Ryan (42), J Carroll for O’Dwyer (51).

Ref – T Walsh (Waterford)

Indo Sport