Thursday 22 August 2019

Red Hands stay in control

Nicky Rackard Cup: Tyrone 2-21 Louth 1-17

Stock photo: Sportsfile
Stock photo: Sportsfile Sportsdesk

Tyrone qualified for the semi-finals, but only by virtue of Mayo's failure to beat Sligo.

Damian Casey and Matthew Mulgrew hit the goals that set the Red Hands on course for victory.

"We were always in control of that game, we were never going to get beaten, and we played some good hurling," said Tyrone manager Mattie Lennon.

Tyrone were always on top, but made life difficult for themselves by conceding frees.

SCORERS - Tyrone: D Casey 1-11 (8f), M Mulgrew 1-0, T Morgan 0-5, L Devlin, D Begley 0-2 each, R McKernan 0-1. Louth: D Geoghegan 0-13 (11f), S Connelly 1-1, C Deane 0-2, P Brennan 0-1.

Tyrone - C McElhatton; S Muldoon, J Kerr; C McNally, D Rafferty, C Kearns, J Ferguson; S Donaghy, R McKernan, L Devlin, B McGurk, T Morgan; M Mulgrew, D Casey, D Begley. Subs: C Cross for Ferguson, C Lagan for Donaghy, J McGurk for Mulgrew.

Louth- D Connolly; M Wallace, A McCrave, A Smith; P Fallon, L Molloy, J McDonnell; D O'Hanrahan, D Kettle; P Brennan, J Costelloe, F Joyce; D Geoghegan, S Connelly, C Deane. Subs: M Fee for McCrave, S Kettle for Fallon, J Martin for Brennan.

REF - M Murtagh (Westmeath).

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

O'Donohoe on song

Armagh 0-24 Longford 0-14

Armagh turned a three-point half-time deficit into a 10-point winning margin as they booked their place in the semi-final with victory over Longford.

Longford performed well but Armagh were shrewd and clinical in the second half.

The best score of the game came in the 27th minute when an excellent pass from Johnny Casey found Maitiu O'Donohoe and he found the target from about 65 metres out.

Scorers - Armagh: D Gaffney 0-12 (10f), D Magee, S Doherty (3f) 0-3 each, S Toal, E McGuinness 0-2 each, O Curry, S Renaghan 0-1. Longford: D Buckley 0-7 (5f), C Kavanagh, M O'Donohoe 0-2 each, J Casey, D Connell, R Murray 0-1 each.

ARMAGH - F Woods; C Rice, A McGuinness, P Quinn; P McGrane, C Clifford, T Nevin; O Curry, P Gaffney; S Toal, E McGuinness, D Gaffney; S Renaghan, D McKenna, D Magee. Subs: S Doherty for Woods (ht), O McCann for McGrane (65), J O'Connor for McGuinness and D McKenna for McEvoy (70)

LONGFORD - E Daly; G Moore, D Duggan, P Corcoran; C McLoughlin, E Naughton, B Hanley; C Mullane, P Barden; C Kavanagh, D Buckley, M O'Donohoe; J Casey, D Connell, R Murray. Subs: S O'Brien for O'Donohoe (63), E Tully for Murray (70)

Ref - G McGrath (Wexford)

Brough relieved to get draw

Monaghan 2-15 Warwickshire 3-12

A goal by substitute Kelvin Magee three minutes into stoppage time saw Warwickshire keep their unbeaten record intact but they were pushed all the way by a resilient Monaghan in this very entertaining contest in Inniskeen, with manager Chris Brough relieved to get a draw.

"Yes we are relieved but coming here is never easy and Monaghan really put it up to us," Brough said.

Scorers - Monaghan: T Campbell, M Treanor 1-2 each, F Rafter 0-5 (3f, 1'65), S Lambe 0-3, P McKenna, S McNally, C Flynn 0-1 each. Warwickshire: W Allen 0-6 (1f), P Scully, N Kennedy, K Magee 1-0 each, E McCabe 0-3, M Holland 0-2, I Dwyer 0-1.

Monaghan: N Butler, P Bermingham, E Sheehen, E Leonard, C McKenna, P Treanor, C Gernon, T Campbell, F Rafter, P McKenna, M Treanor, S McNally, B McGuigan, S Lambe, C Flynn. Subs: K Crawley for P McKenna, C Power for C Flynn, P McGahon for S McNally

Warwickshire: P Crean, T Kelly, D Bruen, K Meaney, P Scully, J Collins, M O'Regan, C Heeney, M Holland, R Curley, W Allen, N Kennedy, B Fallon, E McCabe, I Dwyer. Subs: K Magee for R Curley, P Crehan for B Fallon, K Boxwell for M O'Regan, J Lynch for I Dwyer.

Ref - K Brady (Louth).

Yeats men in top spot

Sligo 2-16 Mayo 1-19

Mayo came from 12 points down to force a draw against Sligo, but it was not enough to keep them in the Nicky Rackard Cup.

A late goal from Adrian Phillips, and a tenth point of the afternoon from Shane Boland pulled Mayo level in injury-time, but Sligo's James Weir made a superb block to prevent Mayo edging in front as the Yeats men held on for a point to secure top spot.

Scorers - Sligo: G O'Kelly-Lynch 2-2, K Raymond (3f, 1 '65) 0-6, G Cadden, S Crowley (1f) 0-2 each, C Griffin, R McHugh, A Kilcullen, J Starr 0-1 each. Mayo: S Boland 0-10 (8f), A Phillips 1-3, S Regan 0-2, C Freeman (1f), S Kenny ('65), K Feeney (1f), C Scahill 0-1 each.

SLIGO -M Burke; J Weir, N Feehily, K O'Kennedy; K Banks, R Cox, R McHugh; G O'Kelly-Lynch, J Starr; B Shannon, C Griffin, G Cadden; S Crowley, K Raymond, K Gilmartin. Subs: M Gordon for Crowley (43), T O'Kelly-Lynch for Shannon (46), K Prior for O'Kennedy (54), A Kilcullen for Cadden (57), N McDermott for Starr (70).

MAYO - S Leneghan; C Murray, C Daly, S Mulroy; B Hunt, D Kenny, C Freeman; K McDermott, S Kenny; S Regan, K Kiely, P Kiely; S Boland, A Phillips, C Scahill. Subs: D Huane for Freeman (ht), E Delaney for K Kiely (ht), P O'Flynn for P Kiely (ht), J Gallagher for McDermott (50), K Feeney for Scahill (67).

REF - S Stack (Dublin).

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: Tipp throw off the shackles while Kilkenny’s soul-searching begins

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport