| 13.4°C Dublin

Rebels recall Cadogan for visit of Tipperary


Tadhg Kennelly

Tadhg Kennelly


Tadhg Kennelly

Cork hurling boss Jimmy Barry-Murphy has made four changes from the side that beat Galway for the visit of Tipperary to Pairc Ui Rinn on Sunday.

Three of the changes come in the forward line, with Paudie O'Sullivan among those to lose out despite hitting 2-1 against the Tribesmen a week ago.

Brian Lawton and Stephen Moylan also make way in attack, with Rob O'Shea, Alan Cadogan and Luke O'Farrell coming into the side. All three of the men coming in featured as second-half substitutes last week as the Rebels held off a late comeback from Galway.

The remaining switch comes in defence, where former county footballer Damien Cahalane replaces Sarsfields man William Kearney.

Like Cork, Tipperary made a poor start to the league when losing their opening game. However both sides have recovered to string together three successive wins to secure a place in the play-offs with a game to go.

There is only pride to play for in this game with both teams already assured of a place in the league quarter-finals, though a higher finish could offer a more favourable draw in the last eight.

Elsewhere, Limerick manager TJ Ryan has named his team for the visit of Laois.

And he has resisted the temptation to recall any of the Kilmallock contingent after their disappointing defeat to Ballyhale in the All-Ireland club final on Tuesday.

They can still call on plenty of experience, with Donal O'Grady captaining the side from half-forward, while Richie McCarthy takes up his usual full-back berth. Declan Hannon has been named at centre-back for the visit of the midlanders.

Offaly manager Brian Whelahan has kept faith with the side that beat Limerick last week. Brian Carroll, Dan Currams and Shane Dooley all start in the full-forward line.

Elsewhere, Tadhg Kennelly's contribution to the Sydney Swans was recognised when he was inducted into the club's Hall of Fame.

The Kerryman departed for Down Under in 1999 and became the first Irish player to win an AFL Premiership title when he helped the Swans to glory in 2005.

Kennelly (left), who returned home to win an All-Ireland with Kerry in 2009, made 197 appearances for the Sydney club and became the 61st person to be inducted at a presentation on Wednesday night.

"I grew up wanting to be a Gaelic footballer like my father," an emotional Kennelly said at the ceremony.

"I came out thinking 'I'll give it a crack and see what happens', not thinking I'd be a hall of famer for a great sporting club in Australia.

"When I first came out here I was 18 years old. I was fairly green.

"You need a father figure at a football club. There was no welfare managers. There was no development coaches and Georgie (Swans coach George Stone) just put me under his wing and brought me to another level."

Cork (SH v Tipperary) - A Nash; S O'Neill, S McDonnell, D Cahalane; L McLoughlin, M Ellis, C Murphy; D Kearney, A Walsh; C Lehane, S Harnedy, R O'Shea; A Cadogan, L O'Farrell, P Horgan.

Limerick (SH v Laois) - A Murphy; S Walsh, R McCarthy, S O'Brien; C King, D Hannon, C Allis; J Ryan, P Browne; D Reidy, D Breen, D O'Grady; T O'Brien, P Begley, S Tobin.

Offaly (SH v Antrim) - J Dempsey; S Wynne, S Shortt, D King; C Parlon, C Egan, E Murphy; S Ryan, P Camon; E Nolan, J Mulrooney, S Kinsella; B Carroll, D Currams, S Dooley.

Irish Independent