Monday 16 September 2019

Powerful Treaty blow away Banner

Limerick 3-18 Clare 0-13

Mark O'Dwyer of Limerick in action against Aidan McCarthy of Clare. Photo: Sportsfile
Mark O'Dwyer of Limerick in action against Aidan McCarthy of Clare. Photo: Sportsfile Sportsdesk

Seeking to retain their Munster and All-Ireland titles, Limerick got this season's campaign off to a flying start when they defeated Clare by 14 points at Cusack Park last evening.

Goals in the second half by Seamus Flanagan, Conor Boylan and substitute Mark O'Dwyer completed the rout.

Clare played almost the entire second period with just 14 men as corner-back Conor O'Halloran saw red for a striking offence on Limerick's Darren O'Connell.

The Shannonsiders dominated preecedings in the opening half, yet only led by two (0-10 to 0-8) at the break.

With two minutes to go to the interval the visitors led by six but Clare replied with four points through Padraic O'Loughlin, Gary Cooney and two by Aidan McCarthy.

O'Halloran was dismissed within a minute of the restart and Clare's hopes were dashed.

Limerick took matters into their own hands and with Brian Ryan in scoring form they bossed the game from there.

SCORERS - Limerick: B Ryan 0-6, B Murphy 0-5 (4fs), C Boylan , S Flanagan 1-2 each, M O'Dwyer 1-1, P O'Loughlin, D O'Connell (0-1) each. Clare: A McCarthy 0-6 (6fs), G Cooney, P O'Loughlin 0-2 each, M Corry, S Conway, S O'Loughlin 0-1 each.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Limerick - J Power; B McPartland, J Adams, J Flynn; D Minehan, K Hayes (capt), T Grimes; P O'Loughlin, M Mackey; B Ryan, B Murphy, C Boylan; D O'Connell, S Flanagan, O O'Reilly. Subs: P Ahern for O'Connell (43), W O'Meara for Minehan (49), M Houlihan for Ryan (56), B Timmons for McPartland (57).

Clare - K Nugent; C O'Halloran, R Hayes, B Higgins; D Ryan, J McCarthy (capt), P McNamara; M Corry, K Galvin; A McCarthy, G Cooney, S Conway, J Carmody, C Guilfoyle, B Connors. Subs: P O'Loughlin for Carmody (21), S O'Loughlin for Conway (29), L O'Connor for Corry (h-t), C Darcy for Galvin (37), M O' Shea for Connors (51), M O'Dwyer for O' Reilly (54).

REF - P Kelly (Tipperary).

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: 'Jim Gavin has achieved what Mick O'Dwyer and Brian Cody couldn't do'

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Also in Sport