Friday 13 December 2019

'Powerful' Eoghan Rua fend off Sylane

Eoghan Rua 0-10 Sylane 0-4

Sean Leo McGoldrick helped Eoghan Rua fend off Sylane. Picture credit: Oliver McVeigh / SPORTSFILE
Sean Leo McGoldrick helped Eoghan Rua fend off Sylane. Picture credit: Oliver McVeigh / SPORTSFILE Newsdesk Newsdesk

A powerful second-half performance paved the way for Eoghan Rua to shut out Sylane, holding them scoreless after the sides went in level at the break 0-4 each, and go on to win 0-10 to 0-4 to reach the All-Ireland junior hurling final.

After Sylane took an early lead from a Stephen Burke-free in the fifth minute, Eoghan Rua hit back with Sean Leo McGoldrick and Ciaran Gaile points to lead by the 11th minute. The sides then traded points from frees, Glynn for Sylane to level and Gaile to put the Coleraine side back in front by the end of the first quarter.

Sylane had a decent spell to hit two in a row, both from Shane Glynn, to retake the lead, 0-4 to 0-3. That second point, from a free in the 22nd minute, proved to be Sylane's last score of the game.

Eoghan Rua levelled in the 25th minute to go in 0-4 each at the break.

Coleraine gradually got on top in the second half with Gaile adding three more points while Ruari Leonard, Colm McGoldrick and Tomas Magee pointed the way to a first-ever Croke Park hurling final for the Derry men.

Scorers - Eoghan Rua: Ciaran Gaile (0-6, 0-3 frees), Ruari Leonard (0-1), Tomas Magee (0-1), Sean Leo McGoldrick (0-1), Colm McGoldrick (0-1). Sylane: Shane Glynn (0-3, 0-2 frees), Stephen Burke (0-1 free).

Eoghan Rua - Paddy Mullan; Pearse Dallas, Liam McGoldrick, Ciaran Lagan; Anton Rafferty, Barry McGoldrick, Niall Holly; Ruari Leonard, Tomas Magee; Ruari Mooney, Sean Leo McGoldrick, Ciaran Gaile; Declan Mullan, Colm McGoldrick, Ciaran McGoldrick. Subs: Connor Boyle for R Mooney (52), Ciaran Lagan for A Rafferty (59).

Sylane - Ronan Costello; Kevin Moran, Andrew Cosgrove, Brendan Mitchell; Michael Leonard, Stephen Burke, Oran Martin; Alan Cullinane, JP Steede; Ricky Kent, Cathal Burke, Adrian Lardner; Shane Glynn, Liam Brady, Ryan Keane. Subs: Conor Canty for R Keane (ht), Paul Burke for L Brady (34), Gary O'Neill for C Burke (49), Bernard Power for O Martin (53), Ross Monaghan for R Kent.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, tickets to Ireland's against Scotland in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Indo Sport

The Throw In: From 1955 heartbreak to 2019's five in-a-row - Inside the Decades of the Dubs

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport