Saturday 24 August 2019

Oulart end Leinster drought with comprehensive win

Oulart-The-Ballagh 2-13 Cuala 0-13

Ben O'Connor of Oulart the Ballagh, celebrates with his team-mates at the end of the game. Picture credit: David Maher / SPORTSFILE
Ben O'Connor of Oulart the Ballagh, celebrates with his team-mates at the end of the game. Picture credit: David Maher / SPORTSFILE
Barry Kehoe, Oulart the Ballagh, in action against Con O'Callaghan and Colm Cronin, right, Cuala in the AIB Leinster GAA Senior Club Hurling Championship Final. Picture credit: David Maher / SPORTSFILE
Will Slattery

Will Slattery

Oulart-the-Ballagh ended their Leinster club hurling championship drought with an emphatic 2-13 to 0-13 win over Cuala this afternoon.

The Wexford champions had lost four of the previous five provincial deciders but were in complete control against their Dublin opponents save for the final ten minutes when Cuala finally started to play.

Oulart-the-Ballagh started the brighter, with Cuala 'keeper Sean Brennan making smart saves from two Rory Jacob shots. Tommy Storey was a focal point for the Wexford side and drove at the Cuala defence with menace throughout the first half while hitting three points.

Cuala's Con O'Callaghan and Colm Cronin responded in kind but their shooting was inaccurate compared to their opponents. Nicky Kirwan's free-taking was a major asset for Oulart-the-Ballagh in the first half while midfielder David Redmond also pitched in with a lovely long-range point.

Oulart-the-Ballagh were already comfortable when they hit a key goal right on half time. Redmond rampaged through the heart of the Cuala defence before slipping the sliotar to Tomas Dunne to finish.

There was an eight point difference between the sides at the break and Cuala were unable to close it in any meaningful way in the second half. The Dubliners continued to shoot sloppily and any hope they had of a comeback was basically extinguished when Garrett Sinnott poked home in a scramble ten minutes into the second half to give his side a twelve-point lead.

Cuala kept fighting, with Sean Treacy pointing after a fine run down the left wing while his brother David also chipped in with two impressive scores from play to narrow the deficit. Oulart-the-Ballagh were under a bit of pressure in the closing stages but they still booked their place in the All-Ireland series with quite a bit to spare.

Cuala: 1. Sean Brennan 2. Ross Tierney 3. Cian O’Callaghan 4. Simon Timlin 5. John Sheanon 6. Oisin Gough 7. Sean Moran 8. Jake Malone 9. Darragh O’Connell 10. Cian Waldron 11. Colm Cronin 19. Con O’Callaghan 13. David Treacy 14. Mark Schutte 15. Sean Treacy

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Oulart-the-Ballagh: 1. Conor O’Leary 2. Paul Roche 3. Keith Rossiter 4. Barry Kehoe (c) 5. Eoin Moore 6. Shaun Murphy 7. Kevin Sheridan 8. David Redmond 9. Michael Jacob 10. Garrett Sinnott 11. Tommy Storey 12. Des Mythen 13. Rory Jacob 14. Peter Sutton 15. Nicky Kirwan

Online Editors

The Throw-In: Tipp throw off the shackles while Kilkenny’s soul-searching begins

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport