Monday 23 April 2018

O'Sullivans lead the way as Ballygunner take the title again

Ballygunner 0-16 Tallow 0-12

Denis Walsh praised Ballygunner’s desire and character as they secured back to back Waterford SHC crowns at Walsh Park yesterday
Denis Walsh praised Ballygunner’s desire and character as they secured back to back Waterford SHC crowns at Walsh Park yesterday Newsdesk Newsdesk

Denis Walsh praised Ballygunner's desire and character as they secured back-to-back Waterford SHC crowns at Walsh Park yesterday.

The Gunners needed to graft to shake off Tallow and captain David O'Sullivan rose to the challenge with two second-half points and two assists. The defence only coughed up two points from play and the full forward line delivered nine.

The teams were level at eight points all at halfway as Ballygunner loosened their grip in the second quarter.

The accuracy of Brian O'Sullivan and Shane O'Sullivan established a 0-8 to 0-4 advantage after 22 minutes.

With Tallow reliant on Ryan Grey's accuracy from placed balls, the Gunners threatened to pull away, but Tallow came back with three Ryan Grey frees and Evan Sheehan from play.

Grey's third 65 nosed Tallow in front a minute into the second half.

The tension grew.

David and Brian O'Sullivan restored Ballygunner's lead before Thomas Ryan produced a spectacular point on 44 minutes. Shaun O'Sullivan also saved superbly from Billy O'Keeffe as Tallow stayed in touch.

With the sides on equal terms for a fourth time, the skipper split the uprights with a long distance effort, quickly followed by Peter Hogan and Conor Power.

As the skies darkened overhead and the mist started to fall, they kept their opponents at arm's length for the remainder. Substitute Tim O'Sullivan sealed it with a last-minute point.

Scorers - Ballygunner: Brian O'Sullivan 0-5 (2fs, 1 65); D O'Sullivan 0-3; S O'Sullivan, P Hogan, C Power 0-2 each; Barry O'Sullivan, T O'Sullivan 0-1 each. Tallow: R Grey 0-10 (7fs, 3 65s); T Ryan, E Sheehan 0-1 each.

Ballygunner - S O'Keeffe; E Hayden, B Coughlan, I ­Kenny; H Barnes, P Mahony, S Walsh; D O'Sullivan, B O'Keeffe; JJ Hutchinson, S O'Sullivan, Barry O'Sullivan; Brian O'Sullivan, C Power, P Hogan. Subs: T O'Sullivan for Hutchinson (37), S Power for B O'Keeffe (56), C Sheehan for C Power (60).

Tallow - S O'Sullivan; K Kearney, D O'Brien, M O'Brien; A Kearney, J Murray, J Neville; P O'Brien, K Geary; Bob McCarthy, T Ryan, W Henley; E Sheehan, R Grey, J Henley.

Subs: P Kearney for Bob McCarthy (42), Brian McCarthy for Neville (51), S Feeney for W Henley (58), J Beecher for J Henley (60).

Ref-T Walsh

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport