Sunday 18 August 2019

O'Neill class puts Limerick into decider

Limerick 3-24 Tipperary 1-15

A general view of Semple Stadium. Photo: Diarmuid Greene/Sportsfile
A general view of Semple Stadium. Photo: Diarmuid Greene/Sportsfile

Limerick strolled into a Munster MHC decider against Clare on June 30 thanks to a 15-point win at Semple Stadium.

Limerick laid the foundation for their win in the first half, at the end of which they led by 2-13 to 0-9. They struck for their first goal in the ninth minute when the excellent Cathal O'Neill shot low to the net.

Limerick were ahead by seven points when they piled more misery on Tipp in the 29th minute. This time Liam Lynch raced away from Tipp's Ed Connolly and passed to the unmarked Aidan O'Connor, who had no difficulty shooting their second goal.

Six minutes into the second half, Limerick's lead was unassailable, after Adam English cut in from the wing and planted a low shot in the net to open up a 13-point lead.

Tipp never threw in the towel and were rewarded with a consolation goal from sub Kyle Shelly, who had been introduced only moments earlier, seven minutes from the end of normal time.

Limerick outplayed their opponents from start to finish and they have a real star in top scorer Cathal O'Neill. He had willing accomplices in Patrick O'Donovan, Cian Casey, Patrick Kirby, Aidan O'Connor and Adam English.

With just one win from their four matches, this has been a chastening campaign for a young Tipperary team, many of whom are underage next year.

Scorers - Limerick: C O'Neill 1-10 (7f); A O'Connor 1-2 (1f); A English 1-1; P O'Donovan 0-3; P Kirby, P Reale, C Casey 0-2 each; L Lynch, E Stokes 0-1 each. Tipperary: J Leamy 0-7 (5f); K Shelly 1-0; C O'Dwyer 0-2; J Campion, C Ryan, C Fogarty, T Cahill, K Ryan, C McElvey 0-1 each.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Limerick - J Franklin; R Lyons, M Cremin, F O'Connor; J Quilty, E Hurley, A Murrihy; P Kirby, P Reale; L Lynch, C O'Neill, C Casey; A O'Connor, A English, P O'Donovan. Subs: D Hegarty for C Casey (44), E Stokes for P Kirby (49), C Hanley Clarke for A English (51), B O'Meara for F O'Connor (54) and D Casey for P Reale (57).

Tipperary - S Gleeson; S Loughran, E Connolly, J Duncan; E Marnane, C Lloyd, R Walsh; C O'Dwyer, J Campion (capt); C Ryan, S Ferncombe, P Creedon; C Fogarty, T Cahill, J Leamy. Subs: K Ryan for S Ferncombe (h-t), M Corcoran for E Connolly (h-t), C Deely for C Ryan (38), C McElvey for T Cahill and K Shelly for C Fogarty (52).

Ref - T Walsh (Waterford)

Irish Independent

The Throw-In All-Ireland Hurling Final preview: Can Tipp's firepower edge clash with the Cats?

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport